Creamy Slow Cooker Marsala Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made this tonight for dinner and my family loved it...they are HUGE fans of chicken marsala so I thought this was a neat idea..Only thing I would change is maybe to add a little salt and pepper once its all in the crockpot. It was slightly bland but no biggie...we just salt and peppered to taste after it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pupgroomer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was very good. I used 3/4 cup of flour and I think about 1/4 cup would be about enough. I hated to see all the seasoning in the left-over flour not being used to season the dish, so I added the same amount of seasoning ingredients to the mushroom/wine mixture to make up for what was lost in the left-over unused flour. I subsituted a white semi-sweet wine for the masala. In the end the chops turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Delish! I used 2 small tenderloins instead of chops and didn't bother browning first. Doubled the marsala since I had more meat than the recipe called for. We all enjoyed very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I thought this was okay. Next time I will use less wine (1/2), I thought it was to strong tasting. I also dont drink wine so that may have been why. I do like it in food recipes though. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This was very good. I only made a small change and that I didn't use Marsala wine because I didn't have any. I used a very nice Italian wine I had open. The flavor was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Childs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
To be honest, I haven't tasted the finished product yet ... it's in the crockpot now, and it smells heavenly. I took several reviewers' suggestions -- saute onions, mushrooms, garlic and add low-sodium beef broth -- they made good sense. But I was surprised by the amount of flour I had left over after dredging 8 boneless chops; I threw away about 3/4 cup seasoned flour. No wonder so many said the seasoning seemed non-existant. I think there was plenty of seasoning, but next time I'll mix it in 1/4 cup flour -- that should be plenty and it will perk up the spice level. Thank you for the recipe, D-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good, even my mother in law liked it, and she was a chef before she retired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
The changes I made was to add more garlic (2-3 cloves more), use white wine (that's all I had), simmered the onions and mushrooms for 15 mins adding the garlic in the last 5 mins) and add this to the slow cooker in the last hour of cooking. 4 hours of total cooking time was enough. My husband said it was the BEST pork he has ever had. This will stay in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I've had this in my recipe box to try for nearly 3 weeks - all b/c of not having the marsala wine - which is a MUST! I finally got around to making this last night -and I'm sold! The pork was SO tender, and the sauce was a perfect compliment! For the mushrooms, I chose to use baby ports which I sauteed in butter. I made this exactly as instructed - and it was wonderful! I read another poster had problems w/ the sauce being runny...the reason why -this poster acknowledged having added MORE wine than was called for - I think the problem is solved. This will be added to my "tried & true" crockpot recipe collection. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I loved this! I had all the ingredients on hand (except for fresh garlic, but most of my family don't like a lot of garlic anyway). I added some Cavender's Greek seasoning to the flour dredge, but I add that to most everything I cook. I took one reviewer's advice and whisked together the wine (I used red wine) and the soup. I also added fresh mushrooms and sauteed the onions. I only used 4 chops. I cooked this for 5 1/2 hours in a solar oven. Pork chops were falling off the bone and I loved the sauce. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States