Creamy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Rated it at 3 stars ONLY because it was lacking flavor. The overall ease of the recipe was great and I loved that it required little preparation and not too long cooking in the crock pot. The flavor just wasn't enough. How I improved it (well, I think it's improved) is I added the following ingredients - salt, pepper, garlic powder, Italian seasoning, red pepper flakes (just for a slight kick), fresh mushrooms, frozen peas and carrots, and instead of cream of mushroom soup, I used cream of mushroom with roasted garlic and added a can of cream of chicken soup. I also seasoned the chicken with just salt and pepper before I put it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Wonderful, i even made my own cream of mushroom soup as suggested by another reviewer,made it with spiral pasta..yummy thanks frantic kitchen witch for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Chapman
Home Town: Darwen, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Was very easy to make. And, really good! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Very good. I made my own cream of mushroom from a recipe on this app and used that. I also didn't put it in a slow cooker. I boiled the chicken down for a couple hours; until it was fibrous and a thick stock. Added that to the sauce and cooked out more water. Added garlic powder, cayenne, paprika, and habanero hot sauce. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is a Great Base recipe! On days I have to put in 16 hours this recipe is PERFECT! Loved it! I did double the sour cream and added fresh Garlic,salt,pepper and Thyme! Oh and I also added about a cup of Parmesan cheese! I will make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
The cream cheese and sour cream really cover the flavor added. Wanted more flavor, so decided it could go on either rice or noodles! That gave me ideas for a Hispanic type version (added a can of Rotel and some garlic at beginning). Another time upped the flavor with fennel seed powder and garlic (increasing Italian seasoning to 1 1/2 tsp). This is a recipe that one can have a lot of fun varying as the meal warrants. Feel like it is "dry" -- just add some evaporated milk. Hey, even some bacon crumbles tossed on it would be delicious. Want more veggies -- add some shredded carrots and diced up celery in the beginning. have fun with this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanee Van Ee-Mortensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I added a jar of basil tomato sauce and omitted the Italian spice. Only added black pepper and 1/4 cups of water so it wouldn't be too dry. We put it on top of whole grain penne pasta. Family loved it. Note: did not add any salt to this recipe. We do not like salty foods, and for health reasons cannot have too much salt. Anyone can always add it to their plate should they desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann Russo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was really, really good! I made it for our family and some friends a few weeks ago and it came out perfect! I'm actually going to the store now to buy the ingredients to make it again--this time I'm going to add some beef tips in with the chicken at my husband's request, he loves the sauce this makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vienna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by king james
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
It was good. Make sure you blend everything up good. Used penne paste and it was an excellent paste dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Takenby1
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I made the recipe as written for the fist time, but I added salt and pepper. I also added some Sweet Hungarian Paprika just to add a little zing. This might need some peas or broccoli added in the last 30 minutes to give it some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States