Creamy Shrimp and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Excellent! I added 2 gloves of garlic while the onion and shrimp were sauted and old bay. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was so easy to make and it really had a lot of flavor. I made it just as written except that I omitted the nutmeg (don't like it) and used cooked shrimp instead of raw. I just threw the shrimp in at the end. Thanks for the great recipe. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
As others have said, a very good "base" recipe. I start the soup with 1/2 c. margarine, in which I saute the onion (I actually use frozen seasoning blend-onion, celery, peppers) and 2 cloves wirth of chopped garlic. Once softened, I sprinkle with about 2T. flou, and then break it with about 3/4c milk. In go the soups, chicken broth, milk, spices and corn. I add about a tsp. of crab and shrimp boil and, if I want the soup to be a bit heartier, I put in diced potatoes. Let them slow cook in the soup and stir frequently. Once the potatoes have softened, I add the shrimp. They only need to be cooked about 5-7 minutes. Overcooked shrimp are yucky! It only takes me about 40 minutes to cook and turn out much better. Not as "canned" tasting. Oh, and cut some green onions in right before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is a great shortcut recipe. I used what was in my kitchen -- condensed clam chowder, evaporated milk, fresh corn and shrimp stock. Easy on the rosemary -- it's a strong herb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was fantastic! I'm giving it 4 stars because the shrimp needed to be put in the last 5 minutes, NOT cooked with the oinions. Also used cream of shrimp in place of cream of chicken. Easy, delicious, and healthy! What more can you ask?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I ommitted the celery soup. I added chopped celery, Old Bay, Cayanne pepper, I used 1T butter instead of 1/4 c. margerine. only 1/2 onion. and added garlic. The second batch I added a can of lump crab meat. Both batches were awesome! Had a family over for dinner and they loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Steele Blaney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
So delicious! I took someone's advice and exchanged cream of shrimp soup for the cream of chicken. Very good. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
buy uncooked shrimp and add it toward the end so it doesn't get tough dice new potatoes and boil 5 minutes the add to pot less rosemary, add chili pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Love it! I did add potatoes. Switched out celery (husband doesn't like it) for cream of mushroom. I also added some crushed garlic, and left out nutmeg (didn't have it). Not seafoodie but still really good. I could see adding some ham or chicken in the future. Good base to really be creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I just made this soup and it was good! but I wish it was a little more creamy,I'll try to think of a way,maybe a little less chicken stock? Anyway,it was a great soup to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States