Creamy Shrimp and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
The soup was good, but needed more of a seafood taste. The next time, I think I'll replace the cream of chicken soup with Campbell's Shrimp Bisque. Also, for more of a Maryland flavor, I added a lot of Old Bay, instead of the listed herbs. Also, don't cook the shrimp with the onion... it makes them very tough. Put the shrimp in at the very end... they only need to cook until they turn pink. Otherwise, very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I agree with previous postings that this is a good basic recipe and it can be enhanced easily. I only had a half pound shrimp, so I chopped up some cooked chicken breast and through that in as a substitute. I used butter instead of margarine. I used fresh corn (cut it off the cob) and low sodium chicken broth. I also tossed in 2 russet potatoes (peeled, and cut into small bites) to make it more like a chowder, adding a little extra milk to thin it out. For spices I used my own combination of Tony Sachers Cajun spice, Emeril's essence, Cayenne, and pleny of fresh ground pepper! I thought I would prefer these spices to the more mellow rosemary and thyme and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This soup is quick & easy to make, however, the butter could be cut in half. During the cooking of the onion in butter, 2 Tablespoons of flour could be worked into a roux to make the soup a bit thicker. I used the lo-fat celery soup and crm of shrimp soup in place of the chicken. Shrimp soup should be shrimp!! I did feel it needed extra seasonings which I added. All in all I will probably make it again with some slight changes. I had to omit the corn for my husband's diet, but he ate 2 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This is a very good base recipe - which leaves alot of room for tweaking - I doubled the recipe and added a package of cream cheese and some pepperjack cheese. I used shrimp stock instead of chicken broth - I also added green and red bell peppers in with the onions and it gave the soup a pretty presentation with all of the colors - you can also add celery if you like - if you aren't interested in saving calories, you can substitute butter for the margarine and heavy cream for the skim milk - they make a terrific creamy soup - all in all a good recipe to start off with :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Used Cream of Shrimp soup instead of the Cream of Chicken. Otherwise, we only added 1 tablespoon of Old Bay in addition to the other spices. We also added the shrimp in the last 5 minutes of cook time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
very yummy! we had some friends over that weren't hungry but we told them they had to try it and they ended up eating 2 bowls each! i used cream of shrimp and fat free cream of mushroom instead. also i used a whole onion, 1/3 of a large bell pepper, and 2 1/2 stalks of celery in the sautee mixture. and i added 1/2 lb. of bay scallops to the recipe and marinated it in tony's cajun seasonings,garlic, and onion powder while the sautee process was going. oh and the best part swanson makes a roasted garlic chicken broth which really helps to kick up the flavor. and you can't forget to throw in the cayenne pepper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This was O.K. I think there are better recipes for shrimp and corn soup out there. It did taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This was easy to make for a rookie like me and easy to get creative with. I sauteed 1/2 lb bay scallops with the onions and added the 1LB shrimp at the last minute since it was pre-cooked. I also threw in a small can of chopped clams, used 1/2 clam juice 1/2 chicken broth and some Old Bay to get more seafood taste. I used cream of broccoli instead of celerey because I'm not a celery fan. Used fat free heavy cream instead of milk and highly reccommend some cayenne pepper if you like a little kick. Thanks for the easy recipe! Made it twice in a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Super yummy...I had overshot on shrimp and corn from the Frogmore Stew we had for Labor day, and I have to tell you, this was ALMOST better (and as you may know, that is incredible)!!! I added in my left over summer sausage and added Tony Chacheres in place of the spices listed in the recipe. Super easy and incorporates left overs. Doesn't get any better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terripostlewate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
As others have said, a very good "base" recipe. I start the soup with 1/2 c. margarine, in which I saute the onion (I actually use frozen seasoning blend-onion, celery, peppers) and 2 cloves wirth of chopped garlic. Once softened, I sprinkle with about 2T. flou, and then break it with about 3/4c milk. In go the soups, chicken broth, milk, spices and corn. I add about a tsp. of crab and shrimp boil and, if I want the soup to be a bit heartier, I put in diced potatoes. Let them slow cook in the soup and stir frequently. Once the potatoes have softened, I add the shrimp. They only need to be cooked about 5-7 minutes. Overcooked shrimp are yucky! It only takes me about 40 minutes to cook and turn out much better. Not as "canned" tasting. Oh, and cut some green onions in right before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States