Creamy Shrimp and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
This soup is awesome and my 3 kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
This soup is splendidious! I used a little less milk (to keep it creamy) and left out the salt (gotta watch the sodium) and it was great! Thanks Alisa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
This soup is SO good! For a little kick, I added a pinch of cayenne pepper and a pinch of red pepper flakes. Everyone thought it came from a restaurant, that's how good it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
The soup was good, but needed more of a seafood taste. The next time, I think I'll replace the cream of chicken soup with Campbell's Shrimp Bisque. Also, for more of a Maryland flavor, I added a lot of Old Bay, instead of the listed herbs. Also, don't cook the shrimp with the onion... it makes them very tough. Put the shrimp in at the very end... they only need to cook until they turn pink. Otherwise, very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This soup is quick & easy to make, however, the butter could be cut in half. During the cooking of the onion in butter, 2 Tablespoons of flour could be worked into a roux to make the soup a bit thicker. I used the lo-fat celery soup and crm of shrimp soup in place of the chicken. Shrimp soup should be shrimp!! I did feel it needed extra seasonings which I added. All in all I will probably make it again with some slight changes. I had to omit the corn for my husband's diet, but he ate 2 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I thought this was very good. I wish it was a bit more creamy but overall it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
I had a fancy dinner party so I used a can of shrimp celery and cream of chicken soup.I omitted the milk and corn.I used more of the herbs and added some garlic powder and cayenne pepper.I then added 1/3 cup of clam juice.I used 1 1/2 pound of shrimp and a pound of lump crabmeat and when it was done I added sherry wine to it.Everybody loved it and wanted the recipe.Thanks Alisa I defenitly will make this a zillion times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This is a very good base recipe - which leaves alot of room for tweaking - I doubled the recipe and added a package of cream cheese and some pepperjack cheese. I used shrimp stock instead of chicken broth - I also added green and red bell peppers in with the onions and it gave the soup a pretty presentation with all of the colors - you can also add celery if you like - if you aren't interested in saving calories, you can substitute butter for the margarine and heavy cream for the skim milk - they make a terrific creamy soup - all in all a good recipe to start off with :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This was O.K. I think there are better recipes for shrimp and corn soup out there. It did taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This was easy to make for a rookie like me and easy to get creative with. I sauteed 1/2 lb bay scallops with the onions and added the 1LB shrimp at the last minute since it was pre-cooked. I also threw in a small can of chopped clams, used 1/2 clam juice 1/2 chicken broth and some Old Bay to get more seafood taste. I used cream of broccoli instead of celerey because I'm not a celery fan. Used fat free heavy cream instead of milk and highly reccommend some cayenne pepper if you like a little kick. Thanks for the easy recipe! Made it twice in a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States