Creamy Shrimp and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I'm giving this 4 stars only because my husband wasn't the biggest fan of it. I on the other hand thought it was awesome. I used one can of cream of chicken and one can of cream of shrimp and I added the little shell pasta to it. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I will be making this again for myself soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Used Cream of Shrimp soup instead of the Cream of Chicken. Otherwise, we only added 1 tablespoon of Old Bay in addition to the other spices. We also added the shrimp in the last 5 minutes of cook time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
My husband and I have a favorite resturant from our college days and our favorite thing they make it shrimp and corn soup. This is not as good, but still really yummy. I add some tomato paste to mine and it makes it have the sweet taste I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Loved this soup's creaminess! We used reduced fat soups and milk, and added 1/4 cup finely diced red pepper and a bit of garlic. Next time I think I'll add diced celery and more rosemary. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by mldevries
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Good basic recipe that almost anyone could enjoy. Easy to substitute to cook's preferences. I would suggest adding cooked rice in the last 5 minutes to add a bit of texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mldevries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I agree with previous postings that this is a good basic recipe and it can be enhanced easily. I only had a half pound shrimp, so I chopped up some cooked chicken breast and through that in as a substitute. I used butter instead of margarine. I used fresh corn (cut it off the cob) and low sodium chicken broth. I also tossed in 2 russet potatoes (peeled, and cut into small bites) to make it more like a chowder, adding a little extra milk to thin it out. For spices I used my own combination of Tony Sachers Cajun spice, Emeril's essence, Cayenne, and pleny of fresh ground pepper! I thought I would prefer these spices to the more mellow rosemary and thyme and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
FANTASTIC!!!! I added 1/2 pound more shrimp. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Tower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gowen, Michigan, USA
Living In: Edwardsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Great and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REENTHEQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
very yummy! we had some friends over that weren't hungry but we told them they had to try it and they ended up eating 2 bowls each! i used cream of shrimp and fat free cream of mushroom instead. also i used a whole onion, 1/3 of a large bell pepper, and 2 1/2 stalks of celery in the sautee mixture. and i added 1/2 lb. of bay scallops to the recipe and marinated it in tony's cajun seasonings,garlic, and onion powder while the sautee process was going. oh and the best part swanson makes a roasted garlic chicken broth which really helps to kick up the flavor. and you can't forget to throw in the cayenne pepper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Fabulous recipe! Quick and easy and great flavor. Added a bit of sherry just to make it even more special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States