Creamy Shrimp Stuffed Cherry Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I always like to follow a recipe as written and make any alterations to the recipe, if it was worth a second try, after tasting it once. That said, I made this recipe when I needed to bring something to a cookout and I found tomatoes on sale. I followed the recipe exactly as written BUT I left out the shrimp. (some people are allergic to shellfish and I didn't want to have to post warnings about my contribution to the table especially when the ingredients are not obvious) It was a hit. They were tasty, refreshing little morsels to pop in your mouth. Next time I will try it with a little finely chopped onion or scallions and of course, shrimp. Nice recipe, DeltaQueen 50. To the reviewer below. I cleaned the tomatoes and made the cheese filling the night before. Next day, construction was a breeze. You have the right idea about the greens for a "bed to nest" the tomatoes on. Next time try to julienne or finely shred a few lettuce/romaine/cabbage leaves to make a "fluffier bed" for them to nest upon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I made this some time ago and thought it was a little labor intensive regarding cleaning out the tomatoes, but worth it. Quite good. My main problem was presentation. They kept rolling around. I diced up a bunch of lettuce to nest them in however I was hoping there would be other suggestions posted by now. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This was very tasty - I added some tobasco sauce, too. I used the mixture to stuff mushroom caps, and reserved a nice, fat looking shrimp to top each one (to make sure that all of my guests knew there were shrimp in them). They were very popular. Use the freshest shrimp you can find, to avoid fishiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Looked great, but didn't taste that good. They tasted "fishy," maybe because I used the smallest (cheapest) shrimp from the seafood counter at the grocery store. Will try again using better shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Tasty recipe!! Very fiddly if you don't buy the best shrimp. You'll end up de-veining them for hours!!! Buy the best shrimp you can that are already deveined and you'll love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
What a great way to use up leftover shrimp! I took what was left from Christmas Eve out of the freezer and whipped up this pretty little appetizer for our dinner party last night. I did, however, add garlic and onion powder and a bit of cayenne. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Very good and very easy...plus, it can be made ahead of time. I used the small bay-type shrimp since it was going thru the food processor. It was a hit with the group I made it for. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
A great summer time appetizer for warm summer party easy to prepare, the taste is fresh and cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This recipe is just wonderful!!! It is so easy that the kids can help you cook them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States