Creamy Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I substituted half and half for heavy cream. Green onions for shallots. Pinot Grigio for Chardonnay. Grated Parmesan for Romano cheese. Added just about 8-10 tiny cubes of mozzarella and about 2 tbs of crumbled Feta cheese just before serving. Substitutes were for on hand availability/savings. It was absolutely fantastic. I approximated all measures and adjusted for taste, I ended up adding more half and half to reduce the excessive lemon juice I had over squeezed from a half of lemon. I hope I can duplicate it next time, All four of us really enjoyed it and I will do this again soon. My compliments to the contributor of this recipe. I also made a bruscietta brushed with EVOO, using some of the pan fried shrimp, mozzarella, sliced baked/dried tomato slices, red peppers and garlic to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shrimpstuffedmanicott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I doubled this recipe and I'm so glad I did because we like a lot of sauce on our pasta. I also omitted the shallots, used half/half instead of heavy cream, and only used half the butter and it's still fabulous! I like the zip that the lemon adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkkellie
Home Town: Turlock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Add angel hair pasta to the ingredient list to aid shopping. Delicious sauce but number of shrimp seemed inadequate so I added scallops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I didn't flour the shrimp. For one thing, I'm trying to cut down on carbs,and for another, why bother? Otherwise, this came out really good. I used WAY more garlic than called for (we just love garlic around here) and I used fat-free half and half (thanks Linda) instead of cream. I stirred about a tablespoon of flour into the half and half and that was all I needed to thicken the sauce. The lemon seemed to disappear into the sauce, so I squeezed a bit more in at the end of cooking. I served this over whole grain linguine (which looked awful in the package, but came out okay). I took the leftovers to work for lunch. Very good recipe, DonnaT. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Based on all of the positive reviews, I was really looking forward to this. Unfortunately, we didn't care for this at all. It looked bland, it tasted bland...I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Very good. I used pino grigio instead of the chardonnay and added diced roma tomatoes to the sauce. Next time I will up the garlic and shallots for more flavor. Overall this was a very delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
It was very good. I didn't have any shallots, so I omitted those, and did cut the butter to only a quarter cup. I addded italian seasonings--maybe 1/2 tsp. We really enjoyed it and it was pretty simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Yummy! Not lowfat but very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
THIS WAS AWESOME! I made it on the fly with all three of my boys running around and it turned out GREAT! I didn`t have the exact amount of cream but it was still wonderful. The sauce was very flavourful and my kids ate it up and asked for seconds (ages 3 & 18 months) I was hesitant to add the butter (too much fat) but I did it in the end and glad I did. I will make this again and think I might use it as my go-to recipe for company. Thanks for a wonderful, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Neunherz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very, very delicious and seemed to be beyond restaurant quality. Like some other reviewers, I also added scallops, and cooked them the same way I prepared the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States