Creamy Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I didn't flour the shrimp. For one thing, I'm trying to cut down on carbs,and for another, why bother? Otherwise, this came out really good. I used WAY more garlic than called for (we just love garlic around here) and I used fat-free half and half (thanks Linda) instead of cream. I stirred about a tablespoon of flour into the half and half and that was all I needed to thicken the sauce. The lemon seemed to disappear into the sauce, so I squeezed a bit more in at the end of cooking. I served this over whole grain linguine (which looked awful in the package, but came out okay). I took the leftovers to work for lunch. Very good recipe, DonnaT. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Fabulous recipe!!! I actually used it with Tilapia as my family doesnt' like shrimp and it was a winner. I did add more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I substituted half and half for heavy cream. Green onions for shallots. Pinot Grigio for Chardonnay. Grated Parmesan for Romano cheese. Added just about 8-10 tiny cubes of mozzarella and about 2 tbs of crumbled Feta cheese just before serving. Substitutes were for on hand availability/savings. It was absolutely fantastic. I approximated all measures and adjusted for taste, I ended up adding more half and half to reduce the excessive lemon juice I had over squeezed from a half of lemon. I hope I can duplicate it next time, All four of us really enjoyed it and I will do this again soon. My compliments to the contributor of this recipe. I also made a bruscietta brushed with EVOO, using some of the pan fried shrimp, mozzarella, sliced baked/dried tomato slices, red peppers and garlic to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shrimpstuffedmanicott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Really didn't see the need to bread the shrimp. Adding 1T. of flour after sauteeing the shallot and garlic helps the sauce to thicken. 1/2 c of butter to finish isn't necessary either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This is delicious! I orefer a thicker sauce, so I reduced the wine and broth even more before adding the cream. Got rave reviews - thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Great recipe. I did add sun dried tomatoes chopped that I had drained as well as subbing fat free half and half and only using 2 tablespoons of butter at the end of the recipe. Thank you for a delish dinner, I will make again and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Based on all of the positive reviews, I was really looking forward to this. Unfortunately, we didn't care for this at all. It looked bland, it tasted bland...I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
So yummy! We have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time, and this is it! We served it over angel hair noodles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
One of the most delicious meals I've had but we made it with pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Garcia Coutee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
It was very good. I didn't have any shallots, so I omitted those, and did cut the butter to only a quarter cup. I addded italian seasonings--maybe 1/2 tsp. We really enjoyed it and it was pretty simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi

Check out this simple, quick dinner idea!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States