Creamy Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
We had this for dinner and it was so delicious. I served it over Angel hair pasta. I usually make the traditional shrimp scampi that doesn't contain cream but I won't be going back!!! :) Great recipe, easy to make and serve. Thanks very much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
We enjoyed this dish, although I won't make often b/c of the high calorie content. I decided to make the sauce and add the shrimp at the end to cook - seemed to work well for me. I added pinch of pepper flakes and more garlic as mentioned by others. Used 1 cup of wine and cut the broth in 1/2. I didn't bread shrimp b/c I forgot, so i added in a little corn starch at the end to thicken. Sauce was still runny, but if you like to sop it all up with bread it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baltimore Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
love love it, I've made it a bunch of times and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Oh My god this is the most delicious recipe. I made this for my family and friends and now they all want the recipe. I told them it was my secret. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Fabulous!!! Delicious!! And so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
My whole family, including my picky husband, loved this dish. The only complaint, it was too watery. Otherwise, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Leary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
i felt this recipe was too involved...i used half-n-half instead of cream, riesling instead of chardonnay, omitted the broth and lemon juice, and added bell pepper and way more garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I didn't flour the shrimp. For one thing, I'm trying to cut down on carbs,and for another, why bother? Otherwise, this came out really good. I used WAY more garlic than called for (we just love garlic around here) and I used fat-free half and half (thanks Linda) instead of cream. I stirred about a tablespoon of flour into the half and half and that was all I needed to thicken the sauce. The lemon seemed to disappear into the sauce, so I squeezed a bit more in at the end of cooking. I served this over whole grain linguine (which looked awful in the package, but came out okay). I took the leftovers to work for lunch. Very good recipe, DonnaT. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Fabulous recipe!!! I actually used it with Tilapia as my family doesnt' like shrimp and it was a winner. I did add more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I substituted half and half for heavy cream. Green onions for shallots. Pinot Grigio for Chardonnay. Grated Parmesan for Romano cheese. Added just about 8-10 tiny cubes of mozzarella and about 2 tbs of crumbled Feta cheese just before serving. Substitutes were for on hand availability/savings. It was absolutely fantastic. I approximated all measures and adjusted for taste, I ended up adding more half and half to reduce the excessive lemon juice I had over squeezed from a half of lemon. I hope I can duplicate it next time, All four of us really enjoyed it and I will do this again soon. My compliments to the contributor of this recipe. I also made a bruscietta brushed with EVOO, using some of the pan fried shrimp, mozzarella, sliced baked/dried tomato slices, red peppers and garlic to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shrimpstuffedmanicott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States