Creamy Shell Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Followed recipe as written. I like the idea of chicken, potatoes and pasta, however, I found this recipe quite bland and watered down. An increase in flavoring as well as a thickened liquid-base is needed. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This soup had good flavor, but only 3 stars because I expected it to be creamy, and after the 20 minutes of sitting it was still a pretty watery texture. Make sure your potatoes are diced pretty small or they won't "blend" well with the soup. And be generous with the parsley--it needs it for flavor. Other than that, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
this recipe was easily prepared and delicious. I did not use the chicken stock from cooking the chicken but substituted commercially made stock and left over chicken....awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bella Bella, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I really liked this recipe but had to add more boullion because it just did not have enough flavor for me...but after I did it was great and my husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJN Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I omitted the parsley as I don't like it, used Lawry's seasoning salt instead of poultry seasoning as that's what I had on hand. I also made the soup first thing in the morning, and added the cooked pasta much later on in the day - the flavors had melded together really nicely. Thanks, Corwynn, for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I thought this was alright...but nothing to write home about. I pretty much followed the recipe as written except I added carrots, used precooked chicken, and garnished with paprika rather than nutmeg. Leftovers the next day are more like a creamy pasta dish than soup. I'm not opposed to making this again but I'm not sure that I will, as it really didn't knock my socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
This one one is really good! Perfect for cold night. It's quick to make as well. The whole family loved it. I had to add a bit more water because alot of the liquid got soaked up while standing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
I experimented with this recipe and it truned out really well. This is the first time that I had ever made a cream soup and it turned out reall great. Everyone one loved it ! If you are learning how to make cream soups this would be a good one to try first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
This is good stuff. A lot like a clam chowder but without clams, which is great, because clams are the only part of chowder I don't like. Tasty. I prefer to saute the chicken until it browns so it won't disintegrate while simmering, and I leave it in rather than pick it out of the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States