Creamy Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
We loved this flavorful, creamy soup. It's a great low fat option to chowders that use cream. I tripled the recipe, but used only 1 1/2 pounds scallops - and added an extra cup of milk - to feed 5. There wasn't a drop left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
This chowder was so terrific I'm already planning on when I can make it again!! It's creamy even with the reduced fat milk I used and was really easy to put together. A real keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
YUM!!!!! This tastes so good! I will definitely be making this again. I did have to make one change to the recipe, though. It didn't seem to have enough liquid to go with the scallops and mushrooms, so I ended up adding about 3/4 cup half-and-half. Turned out perfect. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Wonderful recipe! I needed to add more liquid and I did add more spices including a bit of cayenne. I topped this delicious soup with fried bacon pieces. Thanks Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
The recipe is rich and creamy, and the scallops in the chowder is good. What can I say it the best chowder I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
A GREAT CHOWDER! NEEDS A LITTLE MORE LIQUID SO I ADDED MORE WINE SINCE I THINK THAT'S WHAT MAKES IT SO TASTY. DEFINITELY A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
Great chowder, made it with less scallops than called for and it was still great. Recipe said 4 servings but it made only 2 meal size portions. Would definitely add it to favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
my family loves this chowder! It has become a family favorite. I've shared the recipe and some people find it a little too rich. but not us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Great recipe. I put in 1 can of creamed corn as well as some frozen extra sweet corn for a scallop/corn chowder. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This has a wonderful balance of flavors. I added bacon to the onions and used cheddar cheese for teh garnish and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, New York, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States