Creamy Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I melted the cheese right into the soup and used more milk than was called for and it was fantastic! The second time around, I threw in three cubed potatoes and a bag of frozen corn.....and it was even better! This is a fun soup to play around with ~ doubt you can ruin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This was a wonderfully tasty chowder! I, too, added a few extra ingredients. In addition to the green onions and mushrooms, I sauteed some shallots, 1 clove minced garlic, and diced celery too. I added a bit of dill, paprika, and a couple pinches of Old Bay seasoning. Also threw in a handful of chopped, fresh parsley. I used 2% milk, a 1/2 C of half&half, and another half C of chicken broth, in addition to the white wine. (had to use some vermouth, cuz it's all I had handy). The end result was great, and warmed up our chilly Texas night! Thanks for a delicious recipe Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElvisInFlorida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dudley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Thank goodness I read the reviews first and learned that you really can't go wrong with this recipe! I didn't have any milk, mushrooms or swiss cheese on hand so I used evaporated milk, creamed corn and diced potato, carrot and red pepper for colour. I used grated Fontina cheese and blended it right into the soup. I did need to add a bit of water to thin it bit. Then I threw in some fresh chives and thyme near the end. The result? A wonderful tasting and colourful chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I thought this was delicious! While I was making the soup base, I remember thinking that it already tasted like it was made for scallops before I even added them. This is so good and rich. I added some potatoes to make a main course out of it. I used frozen scallops but next time I will use fresh because my husband didn't care for the frozen. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Very nice! Much like others I did go off the beaten path at the mercy of my pantry. Id Est, I used portabellos, a vidalia onion, a can of skimmed evaporated milk, and most heinous --- frozen bay scallops. It still kicked butt - Of course a great salad, warm bread, and chilled Reisling not withstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This recipe is a great starter - it's got it mostly right. Here are the changes I made - this chowder came out absolutely delicious. it tasted like lobster bisque. 1. chop up two slices of bacon and brown in the stock pot until almost crunchy; remove from pan and drain on paper towel. 2. add two tablespoons of butter to the bacon drippings, melt on low heat, add the scallops and cook on each side for 1 minute each; remove scallops and set on a plate. 3. add a little more butter, throw in the onions and cook for two minutes; add the rest of the veggies (i used potatoes, carrots, celery at this point) and cook for another maybe 4 minutes. 4. add approx. 2 cups of chicken stock and bring up to a boil; then simmer for 10 minutes. 5. after that - add 1/4 cup of flour, 2 1/2 cups of milk, pepper, some spices (i used a little thyme and oregano). 6. cook until the soup thickens - another 10 minutes or so. 7. quarter the scallops and throw back into the pot. 8. add 1/4 cup to the soup and stir in. simmer for 4 minutes and then remove from heat. i am so pleased with how this came out. i'm tempted to eat more of it but i'll hold back :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
A GREAT CHOWDER! NEEDS A LITTLE MORE LIQUID SO I ADDED MORE WINE SINCE I THINK THAT'S WHAT MAKES IT SO TASTY. DEFINITELY A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
YUM!!!!! This tastes so good! I will definitely be making this again. I did have to make one change to the recipe, though. It didn't seem to have enough liquid to go with the scallops and mushrooms, so I ended up adding about 3/4 cup half-and-half. Turned out perfect. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This recipe has a wonderful flavor. I added a splash more milk and the consistency was perfect. Thank you for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Wonderful recipe! I needed to add more liquid and I did add more spices including a bit of cayenne. I topped this delicious soup with fried bacon pieces. Thanks Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States