Creamy Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I melted the cheese right into the soup and used more milk than was called for and it was fantastic! The second time around, I threw in three cubed potatoes and a bag of frozen corn.....and it was even better! This is a fun soup to play around with ~ doubt you can ruin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This has a wonderful balance of flavors. I added bacon to the onions and used cheddar cheese for teh garnish and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, New York, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Great recipe. I put in 1 can of creamed corn as well as some frozen extra sweet corn for a scallop/corn chowder. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
my family loves this chowder! It has become a family favorite. I've shared the recipe and some people find it a little too rich. but not us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
Great chowder, made it with less scallops than called for and it was still great. Recipe said 4 servings but it made only 2 meal size portions. Would definitely add it to favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
A GREAT CHOWDER! NEEDS A LITTLE MORE LIQUID SO I ADDED MORE WINE SINCE I THINK THAT'S WHAT MAKES IT SO TASTY. DEFINITELY A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
I was a tad skeptical about a wine and milk combo for a chowder or stew, but was pleasantly surprised. Very good tasting, creamy, both hubby and I enjoyed it!!! Did add a tad more liquid though, using broth. I think also this base would lend it self well to a seafood stew easily, with a combo of fish, clam or even potato and corn. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
Very rich. This would make a good start to a special meal. I used crab meat since I didn't have scallops & used portabello mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
The recipe is rich and creamy, and the scallops in the chowder is good. What can I say it the best chowder I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This is very good. Although 3-4 chopped scallions is enough. You don't need a whole bunch like the recipe calls for. I omitted the Swiss cheese and just used black pepper instead of white. I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States