Creamy Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This chowder came out great! I doubled the milk because I wanted more liquid and I also mixed in mozzarella cheese instead of swiss. I also served it over a scoop of white rice. I will definitely make this again maybe I will add clams next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Everyone loved it! The scallops are more tender than clams and make a far better "clam chowder."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
i added potatoes, celery, and vidalia onion. added a little extra white pepper, and also some black pepper and thyme. i used twice the amount of flour and milk since i didnt feel like it would make enough chowder for all the veggies and scallops. i also added a pound of fresh clams. it tasted a little too much like wine at first, but after cooking it for a bit was better. should make really good leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This was a good and welcome dish at the house. We added shrimp because we had a few leftover. I spiced mine up to more my liking. I think some crisp smokey bacon would be a good added ingredient. Overall quite delicious and simple to make. We will make it again...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This recipe was flavorless, and bland. It may be because I don't like scallops. I'm used to a more vibrant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was really nice and flavorful. We really enjoyed it. It was really chilly over here so it went really good. I served it with a crisp salad and crusty warm sesame encrusted bread and butter. They reason I gave it 4 stars is because I had to make a few changes. If I would have follow the recipe it would have been way too salty and probably also too thick like others said. I put only half teaspoon of salt and it was plenty!! A little more and it would have been ruined. I would encourage others to use only half teaspoon of salt and go from there; add more if needed. I only use one TBL of flour, but ended up adding a tad more to compensate for the water I added to the chowder in order to cook the small cubed potatoes I throw in. I added the potatoes about 10-15 minutes before adding the scallops in lieu of the mushrooms and to make it more hearty. I also added 2 small cloves of garlic for flavor and a little bit more wine. The scallops were big so I cut them in bite size pieces. Instead of a whole cup of milk, I used half cup of heavy whipping cream and half of 2% milk. If one follows the recipe and add two TBLS of flour it might be too thick/rich, but hey! just add more liquid like water, broth or milk! My boyfriend said that the only bad thing about this chowder was that I didn't make enough! :), Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This recipe has a wonderful flavor. I added a splash more milk and the consistency was perfect. Thank you for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Loved this soup! It was a very elegant and a refreshing change from our standard salad choices.My Boyfriend raved that it was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Very good, but very heavy and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I agree with other reviews...it is hard to mess this one up and is lots of fun to play with. I doubled the milk, white wine, butter, and mushrooms. Then, I added about 2 TBL of minced garlic, 3 large or six small potatoes, and 3 carrots. To turn it into more of a seafood chowder I also added 3 cans of chopped clams along with the juice. Soooooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States