Creamy Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Delicious! Added carrots, potatoes, more flour. Would add corn. Used vegetable broth instead of white wine = no extra salt added. No parsley. Is also good with a little bit of chili powder sprinkled on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This was a wonderful chowder, very tasty and easy!!! Like other reviewers I added a few things - extra mushrooms, more flour, celery, corn and minced garlic - but that was for my personal taste, the basics of this one can't be beat! I did think it needed a bit more liquid, so added some heavy cream I had in the fridge- creamy heaven... thanks so much for this wonderful recipe, this is one for the favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
So good. Easy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Great easy recipe. My wife loved it! Have made the recipe twice now. Didn't have any regular white wine, so used white cooking wine. 1/2 a cup was a bit overpowering, so made it with 1/4 cup the next time and I thought it turned out better. I'm sure this was because I was using the cooking wine though. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Farish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I didn't like the way the rue started. So I used another recipe that helped me with it and added the things that I had on hand. All in all it was good, only wished I had mushrooms and the instructions were better off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This was a great recipe. I tried the basic recipe which was very good. But, I felt for our tastes it needed to be "Souped" up a little. I used Bay Scallops. I added a little more mushrooms. While the mushrooms and onion were cooking, I added 3 minced garlic toes. I doubled the amount of flour. Then, added double the amount of milk. I substituted chicken broth for the wine. I added dill weed and Lemon Pepper Old Bay Seasoning. When everything was thouroughly heated, I melted the Swiss cheese right into the chowder. It was outstanding. I'm planning on serving it again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Great easy soup, I cut back on the salt, used just 1 Tbs of butter, chopped sweet onion and added 1 can of minced clams with the juice and found that the consistency was perfect, no need to add extra milk as others did. I used frozen bay scallops which I did not thaw before adding (maybe another reason it was not too thick) and added a half cup of frozen corn and a few dashed of old bay too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Great recipe. I was worried that the scallops wouldn't get cooked through, so cut the large sea scallops in thirds or quarters to ensure they were cooked through. Also added a splash of cooking sherry. My husband & I are eating low carb, and found this to be a delicious dinner on it's own (I used 1 1/2 lb scallops & 8 oz mushroom, increasing the liquids a bit accordingly). Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was great but since I deviated from the basic recipe so much I'm not sure it's fair to rate it. I followed a couple tips and then added my own. This is what I did and it was a wonderful chowder. I doubled the rouxe. For the liquids I used 1 1/2 c milk, 1 -- 8oz bottle of clam juice, 1/2 c white wine,1 1/2 c chicken broth; 1/4 c chopped onion (I didn't have green onions); 2 tsp Old Bay seasonings; 1/2 of a small can of good corn (drained), 2 potatoes - diced; 1/4 lb. shrimp; and a little squeeze of some fresh lemon (I'll guess 1 tsp.) I did use 1 pound of frozen bay scallops, a couple twists of sea salt from the grinder, and 1/2 c swiss melted into the pot. This ended up like a cream soup consistency, a little thinner than what I think of a chowder and awesome. Enough for four people as the main dish which is what I was looking for and why I doubled up basically. I just added the chicken stock in 1/2 cup amounts till I liked the consistency. Simmered it a couple hours and yumm-o!! Sweet, tender scallops. Very, very good basic recipe, thanks so much for it. It's a keeper and a favorite. Very easy and a good company soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was really good, the only change I made was that I added a bag of frozen corn to it and that was really good the the scallops. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States