Creamy Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Great easy recipe. My wife loved it! Have made the recipe twice now. Didn't have any regular white wine, so used white cooking wine. 1/2 a cup was a bit overpowering, so made it with 1/4 cup the next time and I thought it turned out better. I'm sure this was because I was using the cooking wine though. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captain Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I didn't like the way the rue started. So I used another recipe that helped me with it and added the things that I had on hand. All in all it was good, only wished I had mushrooms and the instructions were better off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This was a great recipe. I tried the basic recipe which was very good. But, I felt for our tastes it needed to be "Souped" up a little. I used Bay Scallops. I added a little more mushrooms. While the mushrooms and onion were cooking, I added 3 minced garlic toes. I doubled the amount of flour. Then, added double the amount of milk. I substituted chicken broth for the wine. I added dill weed and Lemon Pepper Old Bay Seasoning. When everything was thouroughly heated, I melted the Swiss cheese right into the chowder. It was outstanding. I'm planning on serving it again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Great easy soup, I cut back on the salt, used just 1 Tbs of butter, chopped sweet onion and added 1 can of minced clams with the juice and found that the consistency was perfect, no need to add extra milk as others did. I used frozen bay scallops which I did not thaw before adding (maybe another reason it was not too thick) and added a half cup of frozen corn and a few dashed of old bay too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Great recipe. I was worried that the scallops wouldn't get cooked through, so cut the large sea scallops in thirds or quarters to ensure they were cooked through. Also added a splash of cooking sherry. My husband & I are eating low carb, and found this to be a delicious dinner on it's own (I used 1 1/2 lb scallops & 8 oz mushroom, increasing the liquids a bit accordingly). Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was great but since I deviated from the basic recipe so much I'm not sure it's fair to rate it. I followed a couple tips and then added my own. This is what I did and it was a wonderful chowder. I doubled the rouxe. For the liquids I used 1 1/2 c milk, 1 -- 8oz bottle of clam juice, 1/2 c white wine,1 1/2 c chicken broth; 1/4 c chopped onion (I didn't have green onions); 2 tsp Old Bay seasonings; 1/2 of a small can of good corn (drained), 2 potatoes - diced; 1/4 lb. shrimp; and a little squeeze of some fresh lemon (I'll guess 1 tsp.) I did use 1 pound of frozen bay scallops, a couple twists of sea salt from the grinder, and 1/2 c swiss melted into the pot. This ended up like a cream soup consistency, a little thinner than what I think of a chowder and awesome. Enough for four people as the main dish which is what I was looking for and why I doubled up basically. I just added the chicken stock in 1/2 cup amounts till I liked the consistency. Simmered it a couple hours and yumm-o!! Sweet, tender scallops. Very, very good basic recipe, thanks so much for it. It's a keeper and a favorite. Very easy and a good company soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was really good, the only change I made was that I added a bag of frozen corn to it and that was really good the the scallops. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This chowder came out great! I doubled the milk because I wanted more liquid and I also mixed in mozzarella cheese instead of swiss. I also served it over a scoop of white rice. I will definitely make this again maybe I will add clams next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Everyone loved it! The scallops are more tender than clams and make a far better "clam chowder."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
i added potatoes, celery, and vidalia onion. added a little extra white pepper, and also some black pepper and thyme. i used twice the amount of flour and milk since i didnt feel like it would make enough chowder for all the veggies and scallops. i also added a pound of fresh clams. it tasted a little too much like wine at first, but after cooking it for a bit was better. should make really good leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States