Creamy Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I was going to GIVE UP on ever cooking with scallops again! everything I tried had been a complete flop! but this renewed my faith in scallops, I used bay scallops and I ate the whole dish myself, even though I had promised my husband he could take some to work with him! I couldn't help myself. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sundropkisses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This recipe was simple and easy to make. I modified the recipe and added carrots instead of mushrooms. I think i will add potatoes next time as well. I also added some garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea_stevenson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very good flavor, I added shrimp as well as extra milk to thin it. Next time I would add crispy bacon bits and pre-cook the scallops in the bacon fat for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Amazing and easy. I doubled the milk and flour to make it more of a soup than a sauce. I was surprised how much flavor could come from so few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Wish I'd read the reviews before I made this and added some extras. The flavor was really strong, which I guess isn't a bad thing, but not what I typically like in a chowder. Overall it was good, but I don't think I'd make it again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was a very tasty soup! I did not have green onions, so instead I used regular onions. I did as another reviewer suggested and sautéed the scallops in the grease of the piece of bacon that I cooked before hand. I then added, in small pieces, the bacon to the soup. I only cooked the scallops for one minute on each side and then added them to the soup at the very last moment. Scallops should not be over cooked, otherswise they loose their light texture and become chewy and rubbery. I did as others and added some chives and a cup and a half of chicken stock as well as potatoes which made this soup filling enough as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is a great starter....I added a potato, celery, fresh garlic and doubled the liquid, mushrooms and the cheese. I also added chicken stock. The whole family loved it which says alot because my kids dont like fish....only wish I had some leftover for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was a pretty good chowder - nice and thick and creamy. I added a potato and carrot to make up for the fact that I didn't have quite enough scallops. I tasted it before serving and found it was a little bland so I added some thyme and then mixed in the swiss until it melted. It didn't make very much so I would double the recipe if you want to have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I didn't have green onion or swiss cheese and this still turned out great. I only used 1/2 t of salt because it just seemed like it would be too much and it 1/2 was just right. I was going to add another type of cheese to replace the swiss but it really didn't need it. I think I will try to add corn and fake bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This recipe is a great starter - it's got it mostly right. Here are the changes I made - this chowder came out absolutely delicious. it tasted like lobster bisque. 1. chop up two slices of bacon and brown in the stock pot until almost crunchy; remove from pan and drain on paper towel. 2. add two tablespoons of butter to the bacon drippings, melt on low heat, add the scallops and cook on each side for 1 minute each; remove scallops and set on a plate. 3. add a little more butter, throw in the onions and cook for two minutes; add the rest of the veggies (i used potatoes, carrots, celery at this point) and cook for another maybe 4 minutes. 4. add approx. 2 cups of chicken stock and bring up to a boil; then simmer for 10 minutes. 5. after that - add 1/4 cup of flour, 2 1/2 cups of milk, pepper, some spices (i used a little thyme and oregano). 6. cook until the soup thickens - another 10 minutes or so. 7. quarter the scallops and throw back into the pot. 8. add 1/4 cup to the soup and stir in. simmer for 4 minutes and then remove from heat. i am so pleased with how this came out. i'm tempted to eat more of it but i'll hold back :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States