Creamy Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
We loved this flavorful, creamy soup. It's a great low fat option to chowders that use cream. I tripled the recipe, but used only 1 1/2 pounds scallops - and added an extra cup of milk - to feed 5. There wasn't a drop left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
The recipe is rich and creamy, and the scallops in the chowder is good. What can I say it the best chowder I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Wonderful recipe! I needed to add more liquid and I did add more spices including a bit of cayenne. I topped this delicious soup with fried bacon pieces. Thanks Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
A GREAT CHOWDER! NEEDS A LITTLE MORE LIQUID SO I ADDED MORE WINE SINCE I THINK THAT'S WHAT MAKES IT SO TASTY. DEFINITELY A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
my family loves this chowder! It has become a family favorite. I've shared the recipe and some people find it a little too rich. but not us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This has a wonderful balance of flavors. I added bacon to the onions and used cheddar cheese for teh garnish and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, New York, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Great recipe. I put in 1 can of creamed corn as well as some frozen extra sweet corn for a scallop/corn chowder. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
This chowder was so terrific I'm already planning on when I can make it again!! It's creamy even with the reduced fat milk I used and was really easy to put together. A real keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
Great chowder, made it with less scallops than called for and it was still great. Recipe said 4 servings but it made only 2 meal size portions. Would definitely add it to favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
YUM!!!!! This tastes so good! I will definitely be making this again. I did have to make one change to the recipe, though. It didn't seem to have enough liquid to go with the scallops and mushrooms, so I ended up adding about 3/4 cup half-and-half. Turned out perfect. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States