Creamy Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
This chowder was so terrific I'm already planning on when I can make it again!! It's creamy even with the reduced fat milk I used and was really easy to put together. A real keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
YUM!!!!! This tastes so good! I will definitely be making this again. I did have to make one change to the recipe, though. It didn't seem to have enough liquid to go with the scallops and mushrooms, so I ended up adding about 3/4 cup half-and-half. Turned out perfect. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2001
This recipe needs a lot more liquid. I added a can of broth which really helped. Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
I found this recipe to have potential. Next time I will omit the salt altogether, because I found that to be too heavy. I also found it took longer to cook than predicted, however, I did increase the servings to six. I will definitely make this chowder again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I enjoyed this soup, but found it a little bland and probably won't make it again. Too many other great ones around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
We loved this flavorful, creamy soup. It's a great low fat option to chowders that use cream. I tripled the recipe, but used only 1 1/2 pounds scallops - and added an extra cup of milk - to feed 5. There wasn't a drop left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Wonderful recipe! I needed to add more liquid and I did add more spices including a bit of cayenne. I topped this delicious soup with fried bacon pieces. Thanks Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This is very good. Although 3-4 chopped scallions is enough. You don't need a whole bunch like the recipe calls for. I omitted the Swiss cheese and just used black pepper instead of white. I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
The recipe is rich and creamy, and the scallops in the chowder is good. What can I say it the best chowder I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
Very rich. This would make a good start to a special meal. I used crab meat since I didn't have scallops & used portabello mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States