Creamy Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
This chowder was so terrific I'm already planning on when I can make it again!! It's creamy even with the reduced fat milk I used and was really easy to put together. A real keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
YUM!!!!! This tastes so good! I will definitely be making this again. I did have to make one change to the recipe, though. It didn't seem to have enough liquid to go with the scallops and mushrooms, so I ended up adding about 3/4 cup half-and-half. Turned out perfect. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2001
This recipe needs a lot more liquid. I added a can of broth which really helped. Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
I found this recipe to have potential. Next time I will omit the salt altogether, because I found that to be too heavy. I also found it took longer to cook than predicted, however, I did increase the servings to six. I will definitely make this chowder again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I enjoyed this soup, but found it a little bland and probably won't make it again. Too many other great ones around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
We loved this flavorful, creamy soup. It's a great low fat option to chowders that use cream. I tripled the recipe, but used only 1 1/2 pounds scallops - and added an extra cup of milk - to feed 5. There wasn't a drop left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Wonderful recipe! I needed to add more liquid and I did add more spices including a bit of cayenne. I topped this delicious soup with fried bacon pieces. Thanks Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This is very good. Although 3-4 chopped scallions is enough. You don't need a whole bunch like the recipe calls for. I omitted the Swiss cheese and just used black pepper instead of white. I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
The recipe is rich and creamy, and the scallops in the chowder is good. What can I say it the best chowder I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
Very rich. This would make a good start to a special meal. I used crab meat since I didn't have scallops & used portabello mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States