Creamy Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was surprisingly easy to make, yet it looks like a fancy meal. I served mine over linguine and it was a great main dish. I might cut down on the salt the next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Really tasty soup but also very thick (why I only gave it 4 stars). I suggest cutting the flour down a bit and adding extra milk. Very good flavor though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I thought this was delicious! While I was making the soup base, I remember thinking that it already tasted like it was made for scallops before I even added them. This is so good and rich. I added some potatoes to make a main course out of it. I used frozen scallops but next time I will use fresh because my husband didn't care for the frozen. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
a great substitute for clam chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rex, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This was a wonderfully tasty chowder! I, too, added a few extra ingredients. In addition to the green onions and mushrooms, I sauteed some shallots, 1 clove minced garlic, and diced celery too. I added a bit of dill, paprika, and a couple pinches of Old Bay seasoning. Also threw in a handful of chopped, fresh parsley. I used 2% milk, a 1/2 C of half&half, and another half C of chicken broth, in addition to the white wine. (had to use some vermouth, cuz it's all I had handy). The end result was great, and warmed up our chilly Texas night! Thanks for a delicious recipe Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElvisInFlorida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dudley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Thank goodness I read the reviews first and learned that you really can't go wrong with this recipe! I didn't have any milk, mushrooms or swiss cheese on hand so I used evaporated milk, creamed corn and diced potato, carrot and red pepper for colour. I used grated Fontina cheese and blended it right into the soup. I did need to add a bit of water to thin it bit. Then I threw in some fresh chives and thyme near the end. The result? A wonderful tasting and colourful chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Very nice! Much like others I did go off the beaten path at the mercy of my pantry. Id Est, I used portabellos, a vidalia onion, a can of skimmed evaporated milk, and most heinous --- frozen bay scallops. It still kicked butt - Of course a great salad, warm bread, and chilled Reisling not withstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Very good over pasta. Needed a little more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Excellant! Several points as others had noted. Had to add extra liquid as 1 1/2 cups liquid to 2 Tbsp flour came out like paste. So kept adding a combination of wine and milk. I was preparing this as the main part of the meal so it was sort of skimpy for four servings. I too added a potato and a bit of corn. Next time will add another potato and try to judge the liquid for four main portions, as to me, I believe a chowder is the main part of a meal. Trust me, there will definitely be a lot of next times! Wonderful Shrley, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
This was a good recipe--I actually served on top of linguine noodles (leftover from the night before)--and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States