Creamy Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was surprisingly easy to make, yet it looks like a fancy meal. I served mine over linguine and it was a great main dish. I might cut down on the salt the next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Really tasty soup but also very thick (why I only gave it 4 stars). I suggest cutting the flour down a bit and adding extra milk. Very good flavor though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I thought this was delicious! While I was making the soup base, I remember thinking that it already tasted like it was made for scallops before I even added them. This is so good and rich. I added some potatoes to make a main course out of it. I used frozen scallops but next time I will use fresh because my husband didn't care for the frozen. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
a great substitute for clam chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rex, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This was a wonderfully tasty chowder! I, too, added a few extra ingredients. In addition to the green onions and mushrooms, I sauteed some shallots, 1 clove minced garlic, and diced celery too. I added a bit of dill, paprika, and a couple pinches of Old Bay seasoning. Also threw in a handful of chopped, fresh parsley. I used 2% milk, a 1/2 C of half&half, and another half C of chicken broth, in addition to the white wine. (had to use some vermouth, cuz it's all I had handy). The end result was great, and warmed up our chilly Texas night! Thanks for a delicious recipe Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElvisInFlorida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dudley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Thank goodness I read the reviews first and learned that you really can't go wrong with this recipe! I didn't have any milk, mushrooms or swiss cheese on hand so I used evaporated milk, creamed corn and diced potato, carrot and red pepper for colour. I used grated Fontina cheese and blended it right into the soup. I did need to add a bit of water to thin it bit. Then I threw in some fresh chives and thyme near the end. The result? A wonderful tasting and colourful chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Very nice! Much like others I did go off the beaten path at the mercy of my pantry. Id Est, I used portabellos, a vidalia onion, a can of skimmed evaporated milk, and most heinous --- frozen bay scallops. It still kicked butt - Of course a great salad, warm bread, and chilled Reisling not withstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Very good over pasta. Needed a little more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Excellant! Several points as others had noted. Had to add extra liquid as 1 1/2 cups liquid to 2 Tbsp flour came out like paste. So kept adding a combination of wine and milk. I was preparing this as the main part of the meal so it was sort of skimpy for four servings. I too added a potato and a bit of corn. Next time will add another potato and try to judge the liquid for four main portions, as to me, I believe a chowder is the main part of a meal. Trust me, there will definitely be a lot of next times! Wonderful Shrley, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
This was a good recipe--I actually served on top of linguine noodles (leftover from the night before)--and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States