Creamy Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This chowder came out great! I doubled the milk because I wanted more liquid and I also mixed in mozzarella cheese instead of swiss. I also served it over a scoop of white rice. I will definitely make this again maybe I will add clams next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Everyone loved it! The scallops are more tender than clams and make a far better "clam chowder."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
i added potatoes, celery, and vidalia onion. added a little extra white pepper, and also some black pepper and thyme. i used twice the amount of flour and milk since i didnt feel like it would make enough chowder for all the veggies and scallops. i also added a pound of fresh clams. it tasted a little too much like wine at first, but after cooking it for a bit was better. should make really good leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This was a good and welcome dish at the house. We added shrimp because we had a few leftover. I spiced mine up to more my liking. I think some crisp smokey bacon would be a good added ingredient. Overall quite delicious and simple to make. We will make it again...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This recipe was flavorless, and bland. It may be because I don't like scallops. I'm used to a more vibrant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was really nice and flavorful. We really enjoyed it. It was really chilly over here so it went really good. I served it with a crisp salad and crusty warm sesame encrusted bread and butter. They reason I gave it 4 stars is because I had to make a few changes. If I would have follow the recipe it would have been way too salty and probably also too thick like others said. I put only half teaspoon of salt and it was plenty!! A little more and it would have been ruined. I would encourage others to use only half teaspoon of salt and go from there; add more if needed. I only use one TBL of flour, but ended up adding a tad more to compensate for the water I added to the chowder in order to cook the small cubed potatoes I throw in. I added the potatoes about 10-15 minutes before adding the scallops in lieu of the mushrooms and to make it more hearty. I also added 2 small cloves of garlic for flavor and a little bit more wine. The scallops were big so I cut them in bite size pieces. Instead of a whole cup of milk, I used half cup of heavy whipping cream and half of 2% milk. If one follows the recipe and add two TBLS of flour it might be too thick/rich, but hey! just add more liquid like water, broth or milk! My boyfriend said that the only bad thing about this chowder was that I didn't make enough! :), Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This recipe has a wonderful flavor. I added a splash more milk and the consistency was perfect. Thank you for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Loved this soup! It was a very elegant and a refreshing change from our standard salad choices.My Boyfriend raved that it was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Very good, but very heavy and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I agree with other reviews...it is hard to mess this one up and is lots of fun to play with. I doubled the milk, white wine, butter, and mushrooms. Then, I added about 2 TBL of minced garlic, 3 large or six small potatoes, and 3 carrots. To turn it into more of a seafood chowder I also added 3 cans of chopped clams along with the juice. Soooooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States