Creamy Sage Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Sage leaves should be chopped prior to adding to the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Made this for my picky eaters and it was a hit! Will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
loved this recipe,I added flour to the butter at start for a rue to thicken it and used it over biscuits with crumbled sausage and eggs on them for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Not too bad, and simple to make. Ladled the sauce over rotini pasta, added flour like the previous reader suggested to thicken, and added just a little curry spice and sugar in the raw to complement the subtle sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I used the pan drippings from a whole baked chicken instead of broth, added a little less butter, used some flour to thicken, added milk since I didn't have cream. (will try next time) put the leftover chicken into sauce, to have another meal (over biscuits!) so easy, and a nice change from gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Santos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poynette, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I did this but didnt add cream and instead added a cup of broth instead of a half and added a half cup of fresh parm cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This does not work at all as is, the sauce is too thin and did not thicken no matter how long I waited. I finally added flour the the mixture and got it thick enough to be functional, but I will not make this again. Though I might use some chicken broth the next time I make alfredo sauce to make it a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
After reading the reviews, I added flour to the butter mixture right off the bat. About 1 1/2 tbsp. Stirred it well and cooked it slightly before adding the broth first slowly, then the crem slowly. The flavor of the sage leaves was wonderful. I added just a dash more of dried sage. Served it over chicken cordon bleu. Gave it a rich taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I served this over acorn squash gnocci. Delicious! I used half the butter and started with a rue for extra creamy thickness. Also added fresh parm at the end. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Sage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nairie
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Modifications: + Used Parmesan cheese and doubled the chicken broth as I didn't have heavy cream (as suggested in another review) + Used my spice and nut grinder to mince the sage leaves instead of chopping + Added a dash of flour to thicken the sauce. Review: I thought it was a good sage based sauce but a little on the buttery side for me. Will make again, but with less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nairie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States