Creamy Sage Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Delicious. I have served over chicken and over sirloin steaks. I added the whole pint of cream to make thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artstar

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This delicious sauce was simple to make and my picky teen loved it! I poured it over angel hair pasta, stir fried veggies and chicken breast. Restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Very good, and so easy to make. I used light cream instead of heavy cream, to save some calories; and used a bit of flour to thicken as others had suggested. It went together well, with the pumpkin ravioli I made. I think next time I make this, I would add a bit more sage; but that's probably just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nairie
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Modifications: + Used Parmesan cheese and doubled the chicken broth as I didn't have heavy cream (as suggested in another review) + Used my spice and nut grinder to mince the sage leaves instead of chopping + Added a dash of flour to thicken the sauce. Review: I thought it was a good sage based sauce but a little on the buttery side for me. Will make again, but with less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nairie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I served this over acorn squash gnocci. Delicious! I used half the butter and started with a rue for extra creamy thickness. Also added fresh parm at the end. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Sage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
After reading the reviews, I added flour to the butter mixture right off the bat. About 1 1/2 tbsp. Stirred it well and cooked it slightly before adding the broth first slowly, then the crem slowly. The flavor of the sage leaves was wonderful. I added just a dash more of dried sage. Served it over chicken cordon bleu. Gave it a rich taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This does not work at all as is, the sauce is too thin and did not thicken no matter how long I waited. I finally added flour the the mixture and got it thick enough to be functional, but I will not make this again. Though I might use some chicken broth the next time I make alfredo sauce to make it a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I did this but didnt add cream and instead added a cup of broth instead of a half and added a half cup of fresh parm cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I used the pan drippings from a whole baked chicken instead of broth, added a little less butter, used some flour to thicken, added milk since I didn't have cream. (will try next time) put the leftover chicken into sauce, to have another meal (over biscuits!) so easy, and a nice change from gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Santos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poynette, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Not too bad, and simple to make. Ladled the sauce over rotini pasta, added flour like the previous reader suggested to thicken, and added just a little curry spice and sugar in the raw to complement the subtle sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States