Creamy Saffron Shrimp with Gnocchi and Caramelized Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My boyfriend could not eat enough. Great recipe for shrimp lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by reneeber
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I loved this, with a couple modifications. I used 2.5T butter when carmelizing the onions. 1T wasn't cutting it. I used a bag of 90 small cooked shrimp, and the ratio was perfect. Based on other comments, I put only a pinch of paprika in, and would do it the same way again next time. Fantastic recipe, and would be great on any other kind of pasta as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Unbelievably good sauce! Substituted chili powder for saffron and left out mushrooms (didn't have any). Still awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
excellent flavor, easy to make. Only changes are don't cook the shrimp as long, and I used a cast iron skillet which retains heat so I'll use a lower heat next time. It turned out a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Tasted fantastic. No complaints or modifications whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kikacesca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
My whole family loved this dish! I had forgotten how expensive saffron is but I don't think you would get the same results without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
a very good, and easy recipe with a mild flavor. It could use a little kick though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written and thought it was VERY GOOD! My friend who doesn't even like shrimp ate it and had seconds! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquie_Klockow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and loved it! My husband raved and raved about how delicious it was. I made gnocchi by hand using the Gnocchi I recipe from this site. The onions smell delicious while they carmelize and it just gets better from there! One thing I would do differently is wait to add the gnocchi to the boiling water until after the shrimp is cooked and is simmering with the remaining ingredients. That timing will eliminate one extra dirty bowl and also make sure that the gnocci remains nice and hot when added to the shrimp mixture. Very tasty - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Very Good the whole family of 8 loved it (except my 5 year old who wont eat anything) I doubled the recipe and used half Shrimp half Scallops...also made my own Gnocchi (not recomended unless you have lots of time and patience) and used more Saffron and less paprika as other posts have suggested... very good and will definately make again It was perfect for our Valentine's Day Family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States