Creamy Saffron Shrimp with Gnocchi and Caramelized Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
A good dish that could have been even better. I agree with Lynda Q that the amount of paprika was overkill. Less would be better and none better yet. Otherwise an interesting and tasty dish, largely because of the exotic flavor of saffron. Pairing the shrimp with the gnocchi was unexpected and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Hearty, healthy, and very comforting dish. Really enjoyed this. If you let the onions get a deep brown by slowly caramelizing them, the flavor is wonderful. Could have used more saffron. We doubled it and still needed a little more, but we like a punch of flavor, so start small and add what you need. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynda Q
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I wanted to like this more, but I found the paprika overpowering, but not in a flavorful way. Maybe the paprika I used was too old, so if I try this again, I would use a little or none, and substitute something a little spicier in its place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Q

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I'm giving this a 4-star rating; mainly because we didn't care for the brown sugar taste with the other flavors. Next time I'm simply going to sautee the onions and mushrooms in butter until soft, then add the other ingredients. The other ingredients created such a burst of flavors in the mouth! I had freshly grated parm/regianno cheese we used at the table and I added just a little extra basil. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Lots of flavor in this dish! I couldn's stop eating! When I was cooking, i left out teh mushrooms and the saffron (only because it is so expensive) but it still turned out great! If you put a little more sour cream in it, the sauce will thicken as it stands, and turns out really delicious. Thanks for the great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Really nice and easy recipe with a lot of flavor. As others, I left out the paprika and added more saffron to get the full flavor of this wonderful spice. I used yogurt in lieu of the sour cream I didn't have, straining it through a cheesecloth for 30 minutes to remove excess water. Also, after cooking the shrimp, which only takes a few minutes, I removed them from the liquid they had produced and reduced it before adding the rest of the ingredients. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was great! Reminds me a lot of the chicken paprikish recipe I frequently make. I didn't include the saffron, which I'm sure would have added a nice flavor, but wasn't necessary. I added a little bit more brown sugar than specified since I'm a fan of carmelized anything, and it resulted in a bit more of a tangy, sweet aftertaste that I thought really complemented the dish well. A great quick, delicious recipe! I served three with this recipe, and probably could have bulked it up a little bit next time. Everyone wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
In a word...Fantastic! I omitted the salt and made my own gnocchi. This is a real treat. I was very impressed with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I love gnocchi, it's fun to eat! Pretty good flavor. I used hungarian paprika, 2 pinches of saffron (i love saffron), added asparagus, and didn't have any basil. Plus the store only had 70-pack of smaller shrimp which I think is better so you can have a shrimp in every bite, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States