Creamy Saffron Shrimp with Gnocchi and Caramelized Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I really enjoyed this but my husband wasn't so sure. I didn't have saffron so used turmeric instead. Also used yogurt instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Followed the recipe except used a little more saffron and smoked paprika. I sautéed the mushrooms, onion, brown sugar and added some fresh spinach. Then I added cooked, peeled deveined shrimp, I used 1.25lbs of small (approx 40-60 ct) and added the shrimp directly to the mixture. I stirred together smoked paprika, saffron, and sour cream, then added to shrimp mix. Stirred in gnocchi, topped with basil and cheese. Great flavor! Smoked paprika and saffron was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This was AMAZING! The only thing I did different was I forgot to pull out the shrimp to let it thaw so I had to cook it frozen. I ended up letting the resulting juices reduce with a bit of cooking Marsala wine. Future changes are a complete removal of the saffron as it does nothing in the dinner, adding more paprika, and double or tripling the entire recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I have made this several times and have loved it every time! It is super simple, it's the timing that can be tricky. I put the water for the gnocchi on to boil first, then saute the onion and after a few minutes, add 1-2 zucchinis cut into cubes, then remove from the pan after less than 5 more minutes. Right as the water begins to boil for the gnocchi, I add the shrimp to the skillet, and then put the gnocchi in the pot to boil. After the shrimp is pink, I add the zucchini & onions (sometimes I don't use the mushrooms in the recipe) and the sour cream, plus cracked black pepper, and by then the gnocchi is ready to add. Once it's stirred together, I plate it, sprinkle it with the parmesan, and serve immediately. Soooo good - and I have to use dried basil, but it still tastes delicious! Thank you so much for a wonderful, easy, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I made an AllRecipes account just to rate this gem. Turned out awesome! Skipped the mushrooms and added a chopped garlic clove. I also added some cream since I wanted a saucier dish. I used smoked paprika (the best!) and turmeric instead of saffron (sorry, I'm poor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Would serve with red sauce the next time! Tom liked the gnocchi but not the sauce. I agree!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Mmm... It was sooo good! I was missing some ingredients, so I made a few substitutions. In place of sour cream, I used about 1/4-1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream. ( Guesstimation! I rarely measure when cooking this type of meal.) In place of butter, I used olive oil. I seasoned everything to taste, and for me that means I am heavy on the seasonings. In addition to the what was provided in the ingredient list, I added lots of garlic powder. Regarding the basil, instead of sprinkling the basil on top of the dish, I mixed it with the ingredients in step 3. Mushrooms were omitted because I did not have any on hand. Salt was omitted too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I thought this was very good!! I messed up two times on the recipe and still loved it :-) I added garlic to the onion and mushrooms and it added a wonderful flovor... This recipe could be changed and added too a lot if you wanted and you could still have a delicious dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I pair this with the sweet potato gnocchi recipes on here and I've made this a few times with some slight modifications with what is on hand. I used no-fat yogurt for the sour cream and since I had no saffron so I pumped up the paprika. Maybe my taste buds are weird compared to some of the other reviews but I found the increased pop from the spice very pleasant and the added smokiness a nice compliment to the sweet potato gnocchi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Loved this dish. Unfortunately I didn't have saffron or mushrooms - but this was still great without them! I added all of the paprika and didn't think it was too overpowering? I will be making this again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States