Creamy Saffron Shrimp with Gnocchi and Caramelized Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by reneeber
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I loved this, with a couple modifications. I used 2.5T butter when carmelizing the onions. 1T wasn't cutting it. I used a bag of 90 small cooked shrimp, and the ratio was perfect. Based on other comments, I put only a pinch of paprika in, and would do it the same way again next time. Fantastic recipe, and would be great on any other kind of pasta as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I found this way too sweet...the flavor was good, just overwhelming. I'm not even sure what I would do to fix it. I won't be making this again...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Hearty, healthy, and very comforting dish. Really enjoyed this. If you let the onions get a deep brown by slowly caramelizing them, the flavor is wonderful. Could have used more saffron. We doubled it and still needed a little more, but we like a punch of flavor, so start small and add what you need. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
A good dish that could have been even better. I agree with Lynda Q that the amount of paprika was overkill. Less would be better and none better yet. Otherwise an interesting and tasty dish, largely because of the exotic flavor of saffron. Pairing the shrimp with the gnocchi was unexpected and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Tasted fantastic. No complaints or modifications whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kikacesca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Unbelievably good sauce! Substituted chili powder for saffron and left out mushrooms (didn't have any). Still awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theprofessor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
We ended up using Orange Roughy instead of shrimp and it was delicious! Fast, delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
My whole family loved this dish! I had forgotten how expensive saffron is but I don't think you would get the same results without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynda Q
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I wanted to like this more, but I found the paprika overpowering, but not in a flavorful way. Maybe the paprika I used was too old, so if I try this again, I would use a little or none, and substitute something a little spicier in its place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Q

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
excellent flavor, easy to make. Only changes are don't cook the shrimp as long, and I used a cast iron skillet which retains heat so I'll use a lower heat next time. It turned out a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States