Creamy Saffron Shrimp with Gnocchi and Caramelized Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was great. I increased the ingredients for the sauce a little bit. I also added some spinach which was tasty but not necessary for next time. I only added a little bit of paprika but think more would be fine. The sauce was very stroganoffish. Took some time to caramelize the onions, etc. but the flavor is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I love gnocchi, it's fun to eat! Pretty good flavor. I used hungarian paprika, 2 pinches of saffron (i love saffron), added asparagus, and didn't have any basil. Plus the store only had 70-pack of smaller shrimp which I think is better so you can have a shrimp in every bite, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
i have made this recipe many times, and i LOVE it! everything is good about it. i have used scallops instead of shrimp, which is also very good. just don't skimp on the fresh mushrooms (canned just doesn't cut it). and don't leave out the saffron. the cook time is longer than 15 minutes b/c you need to caramelize the onions, and that is something you can't rush by turning up the heat. if i could rate this recipe higher, i would!! yummy, yummy, yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Just made this recipe! It was delicious! Thank you! I used prawns instead of shrimp, but that probably didn't make that much of a difference. I took the advice of other reviewers and used less paprika, but found that it could have used more saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and loved it! My husband raved and raved about how delicious it was. I made gnocchi by hand using the Gnocchi I recipe from this site. The onions smell delicious while they carmelize and it just gets better from there! One thing I would do differently is wait to add the gnocchi to the boiling water until after the shrimp is cooked and is simmering with the remaining ingredients. That timing will eliminate one extra dirty bowl and also make sure that the gnocci remains nice and hot when added to the shrimp mixture. Very tasty - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written and thought it was VERY GOOD! My friend who doesn't even like shrimp ate it and had seconds! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquie_Klockow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
a very good, and easy recipe with a mild flavor. It could use a little kick though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
gnocchi is rather tasteless and needs a creamier sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Really nice and easy recipe with a lot of flavor. As others, I left out the paprika and added more saffron to get the full flavor of this wonderful spice. I used yogurt in lieu of the sour cream I didn't have, straining it through a cheesecloth for 30 minutes to remove excess water. Also, after cooking the shrimp, which only takes a few minutes, I removed them from the liquid they had produced and reduced it before adding the rest of the ingredients. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by reneeber
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I loved this, with a couple modifications. I used 2.5T butter when carmelizing the onions. 1T wasn't cutting it. I used a bag of 90 small cooked shrimp, and the ratio was perfect. Based on other comments, I put only a pinch of paprika in, and would do it the same way again next time. Fantastic recipe, and would be great on any other kind of pasta as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States