Creamy Roasted Parsnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This just tastes like a great big ol' bowl of autumn. So, so, so good. I did make one change to the recipe in that I used ham base rather than chicken base, but other than that I followed to a T. I'm not a big fan of allspice, but once the soup had a chance for all the flavors to meld, it was perfect. I served with little pieces of toasted french bread with parmesan cheese broiled on the toast. Take a chance on a new recipe, I don't think you'll be disappointed with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was a nice, thick, hearty soup. I made this at Christmas time for some friends and it was just perfect! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I am sick of roasted vegetables, as we keep getting more every other week from our farm share. This was a great way to use root veggies in a different way. I confess, the spices scared me a little. But really, this soup has a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Made some changes, based on other reviews and a desire to combine this with other root vegetable soup recipes. Roasted the parsnips and one large carrot along with four turnips, one onion and one celery root. Sprinkled first with herbes de provence, along with the oil, salt and pepper. Sauteed a carrot or two and about six cloves of garlic along with the onion and celery, and used half and half instead of the milk and cream. Definitely took additional stock to thin it sufficiently. Finally, seasoned with the ginger and nutmeg, and added some ground cumin and a few squeezes of lemon. Left out the sugar and other spices. Garnished with snipped chives. Altogether, really complex and delicious, not at all bland. You can really taste the vegetables. Worth investing in all that produce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EverSince

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Delicious!!! Used Fat Free Milk in place of whole and heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Definitely my fave soup recipe of the season so far. I omit the brown sugar and the allspice, and I sometimes throw in some cubed leftover baked potatoes to the puree stage (just use my good old immersion stick blender.) So delicious! Thanks, Alan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious as is. I added a dollop of creme fraiche for a little tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Yum! This took me a while but with fresh from my garden parsnips came out delicious. It was a bit thick for my liking so I added some extra milk & water to loosen it up a bit - but the taste was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I made the recipe just as written. It was so wonderful! I wouldn't change a thing. It is a great soup that reminds me of fall with the various spices in it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
The exact ratio of parsnips to carrots is unimportant. This soup fines autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States