Creamy Roasted Parsnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Made some changes, based on other reviews and a desire to combine this with other root vegetable soup recipes. Roasted the parsnips and one large carrot along with four turnips, one onion and one celery root. Sprinkled first with herbes de provence, along with the oil, salt and pepper. Sauteed a carrot or two and about six cloves of garlic along with the onion and celery, and used half and half instead of the milk and cream. Definitely took additional stock to thin it sufficiently. Finally, seasoned with the ginger and nutmeg, and added some ground cumin and a few squeezes of lemon. Left out the sugar and other spices. Garnished with snipped chives. Altogether, really complex and delicious, not at all bland. You can really taste the vegetables. Worth investing in all that produce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EverSince

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Definitely my fave soup recipe of the season so far. I omit the brown sugar and the allspice, and I sometimes throw in some cubed leftover baked potatoes to the puree stage (just use my good old immersion stick blender.) So delicious! Thanks, Alan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I added halibut to this recipe and it turned out amazing. My husband LOVED it but says he will only eat it Oct-Dec. Go figure! I did the following to it: Cooked only 1/2-2/3 of the total veggies in the soup but used actually 5 cups chicken stock, 1-1.5 lb halibut cubed/deboned/skinned (my hubby caught it in Canada). I took the entire spice mixture and put half-2/3 into the simmering veggies as the recipe says to, then the other half I sprinkled over the cubed fish, which I added last to prevent the fish from being too rubbery. DELICIOUS! Serve with buttered/garlic salted bagguette bread toasted in the over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potterprincess500

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Fabulous soup! Tried for first time on Thanksgiving and everyone raved about it! I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Delicious!!! Used Fat Free Milk in place of whole and heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I am sick of roasted vegetables, as we keep getting more every other week from our farm share. This was a great way to use root veggies in a different way. I confess, the spices scared me a little. But really, this soup has a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious as is. I added a dollop of creme fraiche for a little tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Yum! This took me a while but with fresh from my garden parsnips came out delicious. It was a bit thick for my liking so I added some extra milk & water to loosen it up a bit - but the taste was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I made the recipe just as written. It was so wonderful! I wouldn't change a thing. It is a great soup that reminds me of fall with the various spices in it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
The exact ratio of parsnips to carrots is unimportant. This soup fines autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States