Creamy Roasted Parsnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
An exceptional soup with unique flavors, and highly nutritious. Made no alterations whatsoever and the spice combination was perfect. The aroma and flavor brings memories of a Thanksgiving or Christmas meal but this soup is great anytime of the year. Alan, both of your published recipes are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
this was my first round with the parsnip, which i learned is somewhere between a carrot and a potato -- success! i actually almost decided to just eat the roasted ones off the pan. but i made this almost exactly as written (used all 1% milk and no cadamom so substituted allspice) -- PERFECT for a cold day with a little kick. didn't have to add any water like other reviewers said, but i have a pretty powerful pulverizing blender. hope there are more parsnips in my future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Yummy, low calorie alternative to most creamy soups. Like most of the reviewers, I omitted the brown sugar. I also added Gruyere cheese on top just before serving. The tangy cheese was a nice complement to the hearty flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
4.5 stars.....really good! I wanted to try parsnips as I've never had them and this was a GREAT recipe to try. Has a bit of a bite of heat at the end so you may want to add a drizzle of some heavy cream onto the top of each bowl before serving, it'll help tame the heat a bit. If all parsnips are this good, count me in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
A lot of work but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Not pretty, but really delicious!! The wintry spices really make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
If you love Parsnips like I do you will really enjoy this soup. It is full of flavor and really creamy. it does have a bit of a kick which I love but if you prefer less heat I would only add 1/2 tsp ginger. Off for another bowl yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Guess we're the odd ones out as we didn't care for this recipe, though we like many of the components.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Unique flavor! I omitted the sugar and I think it was perfect! Garnished with gorgonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethsanchez23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Nice creamy soup. I did add more broth & garlic as noted by other reviewers. One out of three kids liked it & the four adults loved it. I will make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladycharia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States