Creamy Roasted Parsnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This has made my house smell SOO good. The spices are so nice. It has just the right amount of kick from the cayenne. I used parsnips that I had blanched and frozen from garden and they worked out just fine roasting them. Mmmmmm! I highly recommend this very easy sophisticated soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Deliciously spicy (added a little extra cayenne) and sweet (from carrots, caramelized onions and brown sugar). I used what I had on hand... 1 1/2 lbs of parsnips (not 2 lbs). I compensated by adding an extra carrot. I left out allspice (not a fan), cardamom and heavy cream (never heard of cardamom and didn't have heavy cream). I ended up using 6 cups of chicken stock and 1 1/4 cups of milk. I added a dollop of sour cream to my bowl and it was delish! I could also see adding freshly grated sharp cheddar cheese! :) Enjoy you creation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
too sweet for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Variety of reviews from my family, I made it exactly as the recipe was. I personally really liked it. My husband said it was ok except for the weird spice (probably the cardamom). My daughter said it was not her favourite but wouldn't want to eat it again, and my son, well let's not get into that! But if you don't have fussy pants for family members I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Fresh ginger (thumb sized) instead of dried. Dice it in the food processor along with the garlic. Instead of milk and cream I used a cup of soaked raw cashews blended with the water I soaked them in. I like dairy but sometimes it's nice to mix it up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpaul

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Really satisfying, great depth of flavors and a wonderful creamy texture. I've made this twice now and in the second batch reduced the cayenne by half as I found the first batch too spicy (perhaps I was heavy handed!). I used purple carrots from my CSA on the second batch at it came out a wonderful plum color - gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
While not the most attractive-looking soup, the flavor is phenomenal. I have to agree with the others who mentioned it was a little bit too thick, but that is an easy fix with more stock. Just as a personal preference, I increased the garlic and halved the cayenne. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by MAMADUNCE
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I did not have cardamom, allspice and cayenne. I also used fresh ginger instead of ground. I garnished with slivers of ginger. This soup smells amazing and tastes even better. A nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMADUNCE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stratford, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
An exceptional soup with unique flavors, and highly nutritious. Made no alterations whatsoever and the spice combination was perfect. The aroma and flavor brings memories of a Thanksgiving or Christmas meal but this soup is great anytime of the year. Alan, both of your published recipes are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
this was my first round with the parsnip, which i learned is somewhere between a carrot and a potato -- success! i actually almost decided to just eat the roasted ones off the pan. but i made this almost exactly as written (used all 1% milk and no cadamom so substituted allspice) -- PERFECT for a cold day with a little kick. didn't have to add any water like other reviewers said, but i have a pretty powerful pulverizing blender. hope there are more parsnips in my future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States