Creamy Roasted Parsnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Great recipe. I didn't have cream, and I realized this rather late into the game. I just used 2% milk, and it was excellent. I served it with some fresh bread and white wine. I can't wait to make this for my British step-father. He loves parsnips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I didn't know this but parsnips have a core in them that makes the soup bitter . So I made the soup as written and it was really bad. I'll try again next month
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Wow! I'd never roasted veg before and it was so easy and tasty! What a great use for parsnips. And the spices are perfect! I didn't have cardamom or cream, but used the other spices and whole milk and it tastes great all the same. Also used roasted garlic scapes instead of regular garlic. Nice dark brown carmelization. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This has made my house smell SOO good. The spices are so nice. It has just the right amount of kick from the cayenne. I used parsnips that I had blanched and frozen from garden and they worked out just fine roasting them. Mmmmmm! I highly recommend this very easy sophisticated soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Deliciously spicy (added a little extra cayenne) and sweet (from carrots, caramelized onions and brown sugar). I used what I had on hand... 1 1/2 lbs of parsnips (not 2 lbs). I compensated by adding an extra carrot. I left out allspice (not a fan), cardamom and heavy cream (never heard of cardamom and didn't have heavy cream). I ended up using 6 cups of chicken stock and 1 1/4 cups of milk. I added a dollop of sour cream to my bowl and it was delish! I could also see adding freshly grated sharp cheddar cheese! :) Enjoy you creation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
too sweet for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Variety of reviews from my family, I made it exactly as the recipe was. I personally really liked it. My husband said it was ok except for the weird spice (probably the cardamom). My daughter said it was not her favourite but wouldn't want to eat it again, and my son, well let's not get into that! But if you don't have fussy pants for family members I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Fresh ginger (thumb sized) instead of dried. Dice it in the food processor along with the garlic. Instead of milk and cream I used a cup of soaked raw cashews blended with the water I soaked them in. I like dairy but sometimes it's nice to mix it up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpaul

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Really satisfying, great depth of flavors and a wonderful creamy texture. I've made this twice now and in the second batch reduced the cayenne by half as I found the first batch too spicy (perhaps I was heavy handed!). I used purple carrots from my CSA on the second batch at it came out a wonderful plum color - gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
While not the most attractive-looking soup, the flavor is phenomenal. I have to agree with the others who mentioned it was a little bit too thick, but that is an easy fix with more stock. Just as a personal preference, I increased the garlic and halved the cayenne. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States