Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Easy and fast! Thx to other reviewers who said use medium grain rice and add sugar only after rice is cooked! While you can follow recipe as is for success, this recipe does allow for experimenting with your favorite touches and flavors ie., add cinnamon stick, orange zest or dried orange granules and 1/4 tsp Anise to water. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I thought it was very quick and easy with no baking needed. It also came out nice and creamy the way I like it. I didn't give it more stars because we thought it was way too sweet. I only added 1/4 cup of sugar and it was still too sweet. It was so sweet that I had to add more rice to make it edible for my husband. I wasn't able to add the raisins or nutmeg because that would have made it sweeter still. I also cooked the rice with butter and salt the way I always do instead of adding it at the end. Next time I will omit the sugar completely and then I think it well be a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Comfort food to the max! I used long grain brown rice, one large whole farm fresh egg, skim milk and unsalted butter. Lots of interesting texture with the chewy raisins and nutty flavored, long grain brown rice. If one desired another layer of texture, a few toasted walnuts would be great, but I love this just the way it is! Thanks for the comfort of a rich and satisfying rice pudding! P.S. I find that 1/4c. is really quite enough of a serving for something this rich and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
the recipe was quick,i very much enjoyed it instead of using rice, i used cracked bulgur wheat instead of white sugar, i used brown sugar i also used cransins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I used non-GMO Arborio rice by Lundberg. It was outstanding! Cooked in my Dutch oven, kept an even temp. I doubled the recipe, a risk on a first time recipe, glad I did, my husband and daughter ate it all week for desert!! I saved the extras such as; Cinnamon, Nutmeg and Golden Raisins so they could put their own in later. I let the Dutch oven cool for 15 minutes before adding the extra milk, eggs and Vanilla, so the eggs wouldn't curdle. With winter coming soon to these parts I will definitely be making this again. As a kid growing up in England we poured Black Treacle over rice pudding, in this beautiful country I think Maple syrup might be nice. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I have never tasted rice pudding so creamy. For years i have been baking it in the oven never happy with the results. My lord this recipe brought brilliant childhood memories. It is fantastic warm or cold. My cross country daughter said mom? How could you make such a small bowl? Thank your mother in person or in your prayers! Best rice pudding I have ever had. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I made some (long grain) rice for some recipes for the week and while I was eating some with a little butter and salt, I got a craving for rice pudding. I have tried it so many times but it never lives up to the rice pudding I want. This recipe DOES! It is excellent and reminds me of my grandmother's! Thank you for sharing this recipe. I never attempted to make it before because I thought it was difficult, but it's not. Very simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I'll have to perfect the egg technique, but this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
So easy and yet soooo good! This will certainly be a regular dessert at our house. Thanks for sharing Erica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy at Home

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Just finished preparing this recipe(it's in the fridge cooling off now). At first taste this is the recipe I've been looking for. Easy made with ingredients I had on hand. Yes I just happened to have short grain rice left over from my sushi experiment last week. The only changes I had to make...after adding milk sugar and salt medium heat was way too high. I let it boil then turned it down to low to simmer for just under 15 minutes. Also kept at medium low after addition of milk and egg. I believe consistency was perfect and I'm hoping it will be so after it's chilled. Keeping my fingers crossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Windsor, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States