Creamy Reuben Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is soooo good! One of my favorite sandwiches is a reuben, so I knew I had to make this when I saw it. The recipe is perfect as-is. I did have to make my own rye croutons due to lack of availability in my grocery store, but they were easy--cube rye bread and toast in the overn for a few minutes. They are a must with this soup to give it the full reuben flavor, and you'll want to generously top your soup with them. Thanks for warming up a cold day with a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I just found this recipe today. I have not tried it yet but wanted to say thank you to Shannon for submitting it and allrecipes for publishing it. My inlaws live in Michigan and I have been having this soup there for about 25 years. I go there every summer and order this soup but could never find a recipe till today. My husband and I are excited to try it. I will be making this next weekend and can't wait . I will report back. It was so nice to see that someone else knows Russ restaurants . As I live in New Jersey and no one out here knows it . I will report back when I make it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I also subbed red pepper for carrots. I had 11 oz. of corned beef so adjusted ingredients accordingly. My hubby is lactose intolerant so I did 4 cups of beef broth and 2 cups half and half. Turned out delish! Could have even done 5 cups broth and one cup half and half and still would have been creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samiam3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Delicious, unique, and creative! If you love Reubens, you will love this. I followed the recipe exactly, but cut it in half since it makes a large batch. I thought the addition of red peppers sounded odd, but found that it is a necessary ingredient in order to create the Thousand Island dressing taste that is a must on any classic Reuben. Whatever you do, don’t skip the croutons! While the soup is good by itself, it’s the crunch of the rye crouton that has you craving the next bite. Even salad croutons will work if you can’t find or make your own rye croutons. I used salad croutons that were made with black bread. Thank you so much, shannon, for sharing such a magnificent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I made this recipe as listed, minus caraway seeds, and it was incredible! My boyfriend gave it rave reviews and didn't tire of it even after a few nights of leftovers. We both agreed that it is going into our regular rotation. I shared some with a friend of mine who can't stand swiss cheese and even she raved over it, asking that I bring some to work for her. Five stars from this satisfied cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBIF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great soup! I used carrots instead of the red bell pepper, reduced the butter, added more caraway seeds and used milk instead of half and half with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I had been looking for a soup with sauerkraut for a while so I decided to try this one. I left out the celery, red pepper, and caraway (because I couldn't find any). I also substituted polish kielbasa b/c I didn't want to use canned or deli corned beef. I cut the butter in half. Love it! I can't wait to make it for my Dad who loves reubens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I have wanted this recipe ever since I first tried it at Russ's restaurant. I followed the recipe except added 1packet of Swanson's beef flavor boost since I wanted a beefier taste. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
So delicious. Time consuming to make because I decided to make my own corned beef. It was absolutely delicious, and my entire family loved it! This is going to be a regular option here in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Great recipe, but I lowered the fat content and it turned out wonderful. You really only need about 3 tblsp. of butter. Just thicken the soup by shaking the flour with low fat condensed milk and low fat milk combined ( not half-half), then add after the vegetable saute' and beef broth simmer have cooked the vegetables through. I run the flour/milk mix thru a sieve to catch any lumps. Followed rest of recipe pretty much, but did add a couple Tblsp. of sugar to boost the flavors and add dimension like the 1000 island dressing would for the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States