Creamy Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This recipe is great EXCEPT for one huge mistake: The amount of pumpkin in the original recipe is TWICE what it should be. Other reviewers say to double the spices; the fact is, to make one pie, jut halve the amount of pumpkin and you'll be fine. Two cups of pumpkin works out to the contents of a single sugar pie pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This recipe is OK, except that you need to double all the spices, except the salt. Plus, I don't know how deep the author's pie plate is, but I made two 9" deep dish pies from this recipe. If you include the time needed to bake the pumpkins, this is not quick or easy. However, getting the kids in on doing the mashing is fun. I like the texture of this filling a lot, it is firmer than most others, less custard-like. For that reason alone, it is worth taking the time to use fresh pumpkins and make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This recipe is fast and easy. I ended up using canned pumpkin for this one, and it turned out fine. Make sure you use a deep-dish pan, it makes a lot! Needless to say, I am a beginner at cooking, but this recipe still made a great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
If you want to use FRESH pumpkin instead of filling from a can, THIS RECIPE is the BEST!! We baked the pumpkin, scaped into a food processor, blended, then put in freezer ziplock. Once that is done, the recipe is a breeze. And OH SO DELICIOUS! My husband could've eaten the whole pie himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
Thanks for sharing, Paula! What a wonderful taste this pie had. Nothing like the store-bought pumpkin. My grandmother made it the same way, but she separated the egg whites and folded them into the pumpkin after whipping them into a froth. She always got a very light texture. Guaranteed to be a hit during the holidays. We've already polished off two of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Herminie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I'd never cooked with fresh pumpkin before, so I was very nervous about this recipe. I used a few shortcuts, including store-bought crusts (I used graham-cracker crust instead of regular pie crust). I used what I thought was a medium-sized pumpkin, but I ended up with WAY more pumpkin flesh than I needed. I also had more success processing the whole mixture in a blender than with a potato masher. Halfway through cooking, the cookie sheet holding my 2 pies slid off the shelf when I opened the oven. I scooped the pie filling back in (no way was I wasting it after all that effort), and continued baking. They were kind of ugly in the end, but they tasted heavenly. My husband (who didn't prep the pumpkin) has asked that I make it this way from now on, instead of using canned pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I too doubled the spices (specially the cinammon) and also added vanilla paste (1/2 tsp) and an extra egg. The sweetend condensed milk comes in a smaller size in Canada (300ml) but that provided ample moisture and a great pie. I used my Braun hand electric chpper to puree and whip the filling which was a snap. Yummy. Was a great hit at our Cdn. Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Wonderfully creamy, a sweet taste of pumkin and spices. But I use a larger dish since mine is not deep (and cooking time is around 15 minutes longer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
This recipe was excellent, real quick and easy, the only thing that is time consuming, is the pumpkin cooking and mashing. Worth the effort though, the results were great, be sure to serve it with a generous dollop of whipped cream, definitely a crowd pleaser. Thanks for the recipe! MOSHI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
*****Update 10/18/2006**** Three years later, my son is now 13 and he still asks for this pie!!! Just made 2 today. I make on average 5 - 7 pies every year. Awesome recipe, Paula. Much love to your Grandmom...WHERE EVER SHE IS!!! KUDOS, GRANDMA!!!!!----------5/2/2003 Every year, for the past 7 years, we go pumpkin picking with our 10 year old son Kenneth, We carve out a jack-o-lantern and throw away the insides. Not this year. I used this receipe and got wonderful results for my first time pie baking. My son couldn't get enough of it. And it was sooooo easy too! Our many thanks to Paula and her grandmom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States