Creamy Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
THE BEST that I've tried so far. Using fresh pumpkin makes a huge difference, I find. As per other recommendations, I used 2 cups of pumpkin rather than 4. It still made a lot, so I also made a walnut/butter/brown sugar topping for one of the pies, adding it before lowering the oven temperature. I've had several people look at me with their eyes wide with amazement upon tasting the pies, several of them having first told me "oh, I'm not a big fan of pumpkin pie..." Thanks so much for this! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This recipe is so easy to make and the taste turns out to be excellent. However, I must say that the reviews speak for itself. I followed the recipe religiously and I found out that the pie was dry, the 4 cups is way too much for the 9-in crust and it will be probably make a difference if more of the spices will be added. I have another 4 cups left and I am planning to put butter on it the next time. I found another recipe from a popular chef and I want to make the adjustment myself but overall this recipe is so easy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Loved it! I planted "Valenciano" a white pumpkin, in the spring, and it gave us the pumpkins we used for our Jack-O-Lanterns. Instead of just throwing out the flesh, I baked it and then whizzed it up in the blender to get the puree to make this pie. I only used 2 cups of pumpkin puree and it filled the 9" pie pan perfectly. My 1st attempt at a pie with from-scratch pumpkin and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
i took the advice from other reviews and only used 2 cups pumpkin and OH MY GOODNESS!! absolutely DELIGHTFUL!!!! i rate it yummylicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina P'tel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
What a great pie. Needs a little less pumpkin than what is stated but the best pumpkin pie iv eveer had!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I followed the instructions for "Pumpkin Puree" found on this site for a 1 kg pumpkin. Then I used the "Butter Flaky Pie Crust" (I can't find pre-made crusts here in Germany) and followed the recipe of this recipe with the addition of 1 cup of brown sugar. The only problem I had was that the bottom of the crust was not baked all the way through so I had to return it to the oven at a high temperature to finish cooking the bottom. I covered the pie with aluminum foil so it wouldn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Loved it! You just need to cut the pumpkin down to 2 cups and leave the rest as the recipe says. My neice wanted me to make a 'new' pumpkin pie for the holidays and this was a BIG hit on both Thanksgiving and Xmas. Never thought a skinny 10 year old girl could eat a whole pie in a day, but with this one they can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hooligan77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I did initially cut the recipe by 1/2, due to the other reviews. I use a 10" pie pan, I then made the other 1/2. If you're using an 8" cutting it is fine, any large pie pan and you have to use the full recipe and double the spices. This has to be the easiest pie recipe I've ever seen, bar none! This is a true totally homemade Pumpkin Pie that I will use over and over. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
The best pumpkin pie recipe ever! I made it with 2 cup of fresh pumpkin and froze the other 2 cups for Thanksgiving. I don't know if it's the fresh pumpkin that makes this pie so good or if it's the recipe, but it is now my favorite pumpkin pie recipe. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I am no beginner to baking but when I went to see if I could find another recipe seeing as mine got lost in a fire I decided to try this one out and even with the pumkin being double what you need and the spices being for a single pie it came out very good. I think I may try doubling the spices the next time and see how it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States