Creamy Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This recipe is great EXCEPT for one huge mistake: The amount of pumpkin in the original recipe is TWICE what it should be. Other reviewers say to double the spices; the fact is, to make one pie, jut halve the amount of pumpkin and you'll be fine. Two cups of pumpkin works out to the contents of a single sugar pie pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I've never had pumpkin pie but if this is what it tastes like, I won't ever have it again. The ginger was YUCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMARAS_MOM

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Thanks so much for this recipe! I always love to carve pumpkins for Halloween and then use the pumpkins for pies for Thanksgiving and this is the best recipe I have found. It's easy too! The only thing I change is that I double the spices, and it adds just the right amount of flavor. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
My pie crust shrank when I prebaked it, so I halved the recipe for the filling. Really really good recipe and I got rave reviews from family. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I'd never cooked with fresh pumpkin before, so I was very nervous about this recipe. I used a few shortcuts, including store-bought crusts (I used graham-cracker crust instead of regular pie crust). I used what I thought was a medium-sized pumpkin, but I ended up with WAY more pumpkin flesh than I needed. I also had more success processing the whole mixture in a blender than with a potato masher. Halfway through cooking, the cookie sheet holding my 2 pies slid off the shelf when I opened the oven. I scooped the pie filling back in (no way was I wasting it after all that effort), and continued baking. They were kind of ugly in the end, but they tasted heavenly. My husband (who didn't prep the pumpkin) has asked that I make it this way from now on, instead of using canned pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Wonderfully creamy, a sweet taste of pumkin and spices. But I use a larger dish since mine is not deep (and cooking time is around 15 minutes longer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I too doubled the spices (specially the cinammon) and also added vanilla paste (1/2 tsp) and an extra egg. The sweetend condensed milk comes in a smaller size in Canada (300ml) but that provided ample moisture and a great pie. I used my Braun hand electric chpper to puree and whip the filling which was a snap. Yummy. Was a great hit at our Cdn. Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
This recipe was excellent, real quick and easy, the only thing that is time consuming, is the pumpkin cooking and mashing. Worth the effort though, the results were great, be sure to serve it with a generous dollop of whipped cream, definitely a crowd pleaser. Thanks for the recipe! MOSHI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Absolutely yummy! :) Thanks Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This recipe is OK, except that you need to double all the spices, except the salt. Plus, I don't know how deep the author's pie plate is, but I made two 9" deep dish pies from this recipe. If you include the time needed to bake the pumpkins, this is not quick or easy. However, getting the kids in on doing the mashing is fun. I like the texture of this filling a lot, it is firmer than most others, less custard-like. For that reason alone, it is worth taking the time to use fresh pumpkins and make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States