Creamy Potato and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
It really only makes 4 small servings--depending how you define "small" ;). In the end, my soup was alright, but needed more leek flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laisw
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
It was really good, but maybe I was using super large potatoes because there wasn't enough broth to cover them and I had to keep turning them over with a spoon so they'd cook evenly. At the end I added a teaspoon of salt and a teaspoon of garlic powder--just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Tried this for dinner last night. The entire family including a 2, 4 and 6 year old loved it. Also chopped some kale to put in at the last minute. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Delicious and comforting soup! I used a combination of milk and half & half in place of heavy whipping cream. I also added some thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was SUPER easy to make & tasty, might add some more veg next time , a tad salt & pepper to taste. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This was a pretty good recipe. It could use some salt and pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSADAISY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I followed the recipe as instructed. I sweat leek, onions and pasted the garlic. Add the three ingredients with heavy cream didn't require much creamy and pureed it to a creamy texture. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Femmelle chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I loved it! I used coconut oil to saute the leeks until they were a golden brown and yukon gold potatoes. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream which gave it a lighter consistency. I added some pepper to taste and I almost ate all four servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was so good and not very difficult at all! I followed other reviewer's advice and used 3 leeks and 3 potatoes, made a roux then stirred in the broth, garlic powder and celery salt (no fresh celery), then pureed til mostly smooth with a few soft chunks. Added about half of the amount of half-and-half but next time I'll try just using milk. Got rave reviews on this one - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I cooked the leeks in the same pot I used for the potatoes to save washing an extra pot. Also, use Yukon Gold potatoes for an amazingly silky texture that doesn't even need cream added (I just thinned with milk). Mmm, leeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States