Creamy Potato With Rosemary Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Nice soup - made it as described except used light milk - easy to make, tastes good. Next time I think I will try adding more herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This is a great recipe. Had to make it again because the first batch disappeared so quickly. Used 2% milk this time because I ran out of half and half. I noticed using entirely half and half made the soup very thick and heavy, whereas using only milk made it more of a cream soup. I threw in a little extra garlic (as per my norm) and went a little heavier on the cayenne, the soup had just the right amount of heat and was absolutely delicious. I also threw in some chives at the end of the cooking, everything was great. I served it with bacon on the side and dinner rolls (recipe found on this site, Miss Betty's Super Quick Dinner Rolls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I used the directions as a guide and threw in some left overs in addition to the ingredients listed. I added some overcooked white beans, mushrooms and some carmelized onions that had a balsamic glaze over it, as well. The soup was awesome; but it turned out to be brown (the color of a good brown gravy) -- therefore, no picture because it does not look very appetizing, but tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Very good. Not sure what it would take to make it "outstanding" and feel like I couldn't get enough. The serving size is about 3/4 cup. Bacon is a nice garnish; maybe next time I'll add some swirled cream to each serving. This took me an hour to make from start to finish. I increased the garlic, and the cayenne (which is very subtle) and you definitely need salt and freshly ground pepper. I'm glad I tried this. Not sure what the orange round things are in this photo, though; I'd love for someone to explain. This photo looked nothing like what I ended up with. Not even the green stuff. What IS all that, anyway??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
At our church we have Souper Bowl contest to raise money for our Christan School. My daughter's class always get together to make a soup for the contest. Without knowing it they chose all the ingredients in this soup and added a few more. Like beer, rice and egg dumplings. They always put dumplings in every soup they make. They won second place. Awesome soup. You will not be disappointed. But you do not have to add the beer, rice and dumplings it's good the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry L Fraser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This soup was fabolous! I made a double portion and still had no left overs. Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irene
Living In: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was an amazing recipe! I made a few modifications though, but it was still incredibly tasty. I didn't have russet potatoes, but I did have the tri-color mini potatoes, and those worked just as fine. It did delay the caramelization time, however, but no biggie. Added a little bit more sugar, and I Can't Believe It's Not Butter. Don't have cayenne pepper, so I used Paprika, red peppers and black pepper. Lastly, I used milk instead of the half & half, and just for giggles I included a quarter cup of white wine and about a tbsp of Dijon mustard. Blended that all together, and WOWZA! I wanted to lick pan clean it was that tasty. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
this is the best potato soup I have ever eaten, I followed the recipe except I used whipping cream deluted with milk probably half cream and half milk only because I wanted to use up the cream I had, and I used about 1/2 tsp rosemary, we like only a hint of rosemary. Never have seen potato soup made this way and it is excellant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Uses blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This has become a staple in my house. I love this soup! I even use 1% milk and it's still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Absinthe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States