Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2000
Very Good! The bacon was a great addition to this potato soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
I tried this recipe for dinner. It did not turn out the way I thought it would. Instead of being white and creamy, it turned out brown and runny. The soup did not taste as "creamy" as I thought it would. I was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
This recipe is wonderful. I added ham and omitted the celery in my soup and it came out just as creamy and delicious as I expected. I will definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Elizario, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
Very good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
This soup turned out runny and bland. Maybe it was because I added too much water to cover the vegetables. I followed the recipe exactly, but it was very vague. I would use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
What I liked about it was the fact that it was very creamy and yet tasted light at the same time! This is the answer to those who love creamy textures but can't stomach the rich taste of cream for long! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENISM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This recipie is a great base for potato soup. I added chives, cumin, tumeric, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and garlic salt to this recipie and it was great. I also substituted starch for flour. I find starch is actually easier to work with than flour and clumps less. I put grated taco cheese and green onion on top. It was great. I also find that you can fix a thin recipie by adding more corn starch. I had to add 2 more table spoon of starch to get the resipie to the thickness that I desired, but I expected that as I think I made more than the recipie called for. I read a few of the comments beforehand and frankly, you have to know how to cook to be able to use a recipie. Otherwise you are just practising and the recipie may turn out terrible, but after practice a recipie can be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was a great base but I did make some changes...I used chicken broth instead of water, carrots instead of celery a little more sour cream and flour to make it thicker, a handful of grated cheese and I also added left over ham. I still garnished with a little bacon, cheese and green onion tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This is the best potato soup i've ever had. I really love it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I was very disappointed with this recipe. Potato soup is supposed to be white and creamy. This recipe produced neither. Thanks to the 2tsp of paprika, it looked like I was stirring a pan full of orange vomit. Also, it never thickened. I barely used enough water to cover the veggies. Should it perhaps be drained before adding everything else? I dumped the whole disgusting mess in the disposal and went out to eat. Do yourself a favor and avoid this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States