Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Excellent! I added a little more flour to thicken it up, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This spoup is GREAT for both a beginner or seasoned cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I must say, I don't get the rave reviews on this recipe. This soup really had no flavor, and I even used extra bacon and spices. The soup tasted like potatoes in milk, with some bacon grease mixed in - that was it. My family so disliked this soup, I threw it out rather than waste space in my fridge with leftovers that would never be eaten. The taste of this soup was not worth the fat and cholestoral consumed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I have a number of delicious soup recipes my family loves but I made this one last night and it was voted the best one ever! The recipe was great -- I modified it somewhat, per some suggesions here, and it turned out fantastic -- very thick and creamy and delicious. Here's what I did. First, I'm a vegetarian, so I used veggie bacon instead of bacon -- which works fine as a topper, but doesn't produce much in the way of "drippings," so I added a tablespoon or two of canola oil to the pan. I also omitted the celery, just cause I didn't have any. For the milk, I used 2 cups half and half and 2 cups skim milk. I imagine if you used all skim milk, your recipe might be a bit runny. I used fat free sour cream, and replaced the flour with corn starch, and threw in a little extra of that. It turned out exactly as I'd hoped it would. A great, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
what a waste of good vegetables! This soup has absolutley no flavor, and it is VERY runny....did not thicken up at all. I will not be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Waterford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
if you want to thicken the soup alot without adding flour just put one or more/less of the cooked potato in a blender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I think that most people start out with way too much water for this recipe, I do not use more then 4 cups of water and it is fine, also,I am a vegetarian and used baco bits and 2 TBSP. of butter instead of the bacon and also doubled the sour cream and flour for a creamier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This soup was great with a few alterations: Used 1 1/2 cups Half&Half and the rest milk. I also added an extra Tbsp. flour. I exchanged the water for a quart of chicken broth. Because of this and the fact I'm watching my salt intake, I only put in a 1/2 tsp of kosher salt. Added 1 tsp of paprika instead of 2 tsp and it was plenty. Added a little bacon bits and cubed ham into the soup itself for flavor. When I served it I sprinkled on some nutmeg and bacon bits. Yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I thought this was a horrible recipe for potato soup. It had no flavor and was very watery (not creamy like potato soup is supposed to be). It definitely needed a lot more flavor and some meat (ham, sausage or something). I wouldn't reccommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Maybe I made this wrong...but it just tasted like warm milk with water. Was not creamy or flavorful! I don't know how to fix it to make it work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASCHEMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States