Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I thought this turned out good. I added more flour and less milk. Used chicken broth instead of water. I added 1 cup velveta cheese. to some folks leaving the rude reviews, you must not be very good cooks, or you would have modified to suit your tastes. I think saying you dumped it down garbage disposal was uncalled for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was a terrific dinner soup. I skipped the celery (mine was a little old...) and added more carrots. I cooked the veggies in broth and added some roasted garlic. Once the veggies were tender, I drained the fat/broth from them before I added the milk. Finally, I used Wondra instead of flour for thickening and completely skipped the paprika. Topped with a little shredded cheese as well as the bacon and served with honey cornbread. Best sign of a good recipe? No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MildChild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Mossyrock, Washington, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
First, this was a disappointment. I followed the recipe except for adding some chix broth for part of the water and cutting back on paprika, since I was really concerned about what this spice would do to the soup's eye appeal. I did temper the sour cream mixture by adding the soup into it, stirring, and then returning to the pan. Unfortunately, it looks like it still curdled a little bit. It's not creamy, taste is OK but not really that flavorful, and most of all, with that curdling effect, it just doesn't present itself well. Sorry, Lisa, but this didn't work for us, and I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This recipe wasn't too bad to start with, I had to add some red pepper flakes and some garlic and onion powder, as well as using celery salt instead of regular salt. Instead of adding the bacon on top at the end, I mixed in a quarter pound of sausage instead. The family said the end result was to die for, this recipe is a good base potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I puréed it and omitted the bacon. Everyone loved it! I also added chicken bullion instead of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I had to "make due" - from the recipe I used bacon, red potatoes (not peeled), onion, carrots - then added garlic powder, used celery seed (no celery), used butter to make base paste with flour, thinned it with 1 c. of milk and 1 c. of cream, added 8 oz of aged swiss to that mixture, melted it - no lumps. Added it to the vegetables and water. It was most yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Granville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I loved this base! I used carrots instead and added broccoli, kale and finely chopped turkry sausage. I didn't use water, only chicken broth and I left out the paprika and added pepper, onion powder.garlic powder, ms dash and italian seasoning to taste. then added italian cheeses. By the way I didn't use the exact measurements in the recipie for milk and flour, just added what i wanted untill it taseted great to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This is a great soup to start with but if you like your potato soup white thick and creamy you will have to modify this a bit. I didn't use the flour, paprika or water. Just cook the veggies right in the milk. On the side I mixed sour cream (x2), 8oz. cream cheese, salt, pepper, Garlic salt and powder, and half a cup of grated Parmesan cheese. when the veggies were cooked I stirred this in to the with the milk. I removed it from the heat and added the bacon right to the pot. I also stirred in some butter to round out the creamy texture. I let the soup stand for ten to fifteen minutes and it did indeed thicken and was the best potato soup I have ever had! All together with prep and cooking it took about an hour! I really encourage you to try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made this but made some adjustments: I peeled and cut 5 large potatoes, used a bag of frozen cut carrots, 3-1/4C of water, 2C of milk, 1C of whipping cream, 1C of sour cream, 1T onion powder, 1/2T celery salt, 2T flour, 1 bag of cooked diced ham, and 2 chicken boulion cubes. I combined all ingredients into crock pot and set on high. Soup is done when potatoes and carrots are soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I love this soup, it is so easy, creamy and delicious. I used to make it at a bar that I was a short order cook for. It was always a BIG hit. The bacon can be substituted with ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States