Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was a great base but I did make some changes...I used chicken broth instead of water, carrots instead of celery a little more sour cream and flour to make it thicker, a handful of grated cheese and I also added left over ham. I still garnished with a little bacon, cheese and green onion tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This recipie is a great base for potato soup. I added chives, cumin, tumeric, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and garlic salt to this recipie and it was great. I also substituted starch for flour. I find starch is actually easier to work with than flour and clumps less. I put grated taco cheese and green onion on top. It was great. I also find that you can fix a thin recipie by adding more corn starch. I had to add 2 more table spoon of starch to get the resipie to the thickness that I desired, but I expected that as I think I made more than the recipie called for. I read a few of the comments beforehand and frankly, you have to know how to cook to be able to use a recipie. Otherwise you are just practising and the recipie may turn out terrible, but after practice a recipie can be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
I tried this recipe for dinner. It did not turn out the way I thought it would. Instead of being white and creamy, it turned out brown and runny. The soup did not taste as "creamy" as I thought it would. I was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I was very disappointed with this recipe. Potato soup is supposed to be white and creamy. This recipe produced neither. Thanks to the 2tsp of paprika, it looked like I was stirring a pan full of orange vomit. Also, it never thickened. I barely used enough water to cover the veggies. Should it perhaps be drained before adding everything else? I dumped the whole disgusting mess in the disposal and went out to eat. Do yourself a favor and avoid this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
This recipe is wonderful. I added ham and omitted the celery in my soup and it came out just as creamy and delicious as I expected. I will definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Elizario, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I must say, I don't get the rave reviews on this recipe. This soup really had no flavor, and I even used extra bacon and spices. The soup tasted like potatoes in milk, with some bacon grease mixed in - that was it. My family so disliked this soup, I threw it out rather than waste space in my fridge with leftovers that would never be eaten. The taste of this soup was not worth the fat and cholestoral consumed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Great recipe - but a little too spicy/peppery even for this Cajun - recipe is clear, but you must follow it closely - just might want to cut the t of pepper to 1/2 t - great soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
What I liked about it was the fact that it was very creamy and yet tasted light at the same time! This is the answer to those who love creamy textures but can't stomach the rich taste of cream for long! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENISM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
i think this soup came out very well. I tweaked it a bit. I used chicken broth instead of water, a couple xtra potatoes, whole milk and heavy cream. I also added some hungry jack potato flakes and a pinch more of flour and wisked that into the soup well. Seasoned with garlic and onion powder as well. Came out creamy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2000
Very Good! The bacon was a great addition to this potato soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States