Creamy Potato Pork Chop Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This recipe was good, but I wouldn't call it great. The chops had good flavor and the potatoes were good, but kind of runny. I may or may not make it again. Probably look for something better. I have this potato recipe that I make on it's own with crushed corn flakes on top. I'd stick with that than to put it with the pork chops next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Beaubien Povich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was easy and so delicious! Definitely season your chops well before they go into the oven. I used cream of mushroom soup instead of celery, added 1/2 C milk plus more sour cream then the recipe called for and it was not runny at all. I also added more cheese as well. Everyone loved it! We are going to try it with chicken tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoholic2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this dish the other night and i was really look forward to dinner,But i was really disappointed,It came out so salty i couldn't eat it.Every time i make a recipe with soup it never comes out right,Am i doing something wrong? I really like all recipe they have good recipe but this one wasn't to good for patti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I have made this twice, and my fiance and I both love it. We can only find hash brown potatoes in a 30 oz bag, so I just use all of the bag, and double the soup and sour cream. I also use cream of mushroom instead of celery. I don't use oil for the chops; just season with garlic salt, pepper, and onion powder and cook them in my nonstick skillet. The nonstick and the little bit of fat from the chops have always kept them from sticking for me. I think not using the oil makes them more juicy because they don't get that crispy "fried" texture on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANITEGAL316

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, Ohio, USA
Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This dish was so delicious. My whole family loved it. Like other reviewers, I seasoned the chops with pepper and seasoned salt before browning them. I then used a 32 oz. bag of "Southern-style" (cubed) hashbrowns, 2 cans cream of mushroom soup, 1 cup sour cream, 1 cup milk and 1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese and seasoned with seasoned salt, pepper and garlic powder. Cooked for about 45 minutes, then topped with onion pieces and 1/2 cup cheese. Came out nice and creamy without being overly runny. This is great comfort food and will probably show up an our menu often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookwormans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
My husband and I loved this! I made a couple changes based on what I had on hand. Instead of frozen potatoes, I just shredded my own and also used colby jack cheese to top it because I ran out of cheddar, and it added a lot of flavor. I seasoned the pork chops with garlic powder and seasoned salt while browning and used EVOO instead of vegetable oil. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Erickson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Pretty good, think maybe next time we may include corn and more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
My husband loved this dish. I prepared as directed, using 98% fat free soup and fat free sour cream. I could really taste the celery of the soup and will keep this recipe to try again with cream of mushroom soup instead. I will also cook longer than suggested as the hashbrowns weren't quite done enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I modified this recipe for venision. Follow the directions of the recipe, except do not brown the venision chops. top the chops with bacon(4-6 pieces)cover and bake. Uncover the last 5 to 8 minutes, to brown bacon and chops. Remove Chops and Bacon. Dice bacon and mix into potato mixture. It turns out great! Home made bread, and roasted vegetables, (onion, carrot, celery, button mushrooms, red and green peppers, mixed together) make this an awesome autumn and winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Since I did not take the hashbrowns out of the freezer early enough to completely defrost, I went ahead and mixed the ingredients into the semi-defrosted potatoes, placed them into the casserole dish and begin baking it while I sauteed the pork chops. When all the chops were sauteed, I removed the dish from the oven and topped the potatoes with the pork chops and covered it with foil. Back into the oven it went for 1 hour to ensure the potatoes and chops were fully cooked. The topping added only a few extra minutes of baking time, and all came out nicely cooked. Not having any onions, I used 1 package of dry onion soup mix instead. I must say, that it was quite salty for my taste, so I might use 1/2 package the next time. Overall, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States