Creamy Potato Pork Chop Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
All I can say is YUM!! SOOO good! I made a few changes and I think they really helped. First, I sautéed some chopped scallions and minced fresh garlic before sautéing the pork chops in the frying pan and I pre-seasoned the pork chops with salt and pepper and a little garlic powder. I also cut the pork chops into small bite-sized pieces to make this more like a casserole. I used low-fat cream of broccoli soup (it was what I had on hand). I added about 2 cups fresh green beans and lined them on the bottom of the pan. I added about a cup of real bacon bits (“Hormel” makes these in a jar). I also omitted the ½ cup milk as some of the other reviewers recommended doing – they said the milk made this dish too runny. I doubled the cheddar cheese and used fresh-grated extra sharp cheddar. This dish was scrumptious! It’s very fattening, so I probably won’t make it too often, but when I’m looking for a special treat, I’ll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Very Good...and easy! I made the following changes: used 30 oz of hash browns, 1 cup sour cream, 1 cup cheese mixed into potatoes. I did not mixed the french fried onions into the mix. After cooking for 40 mins, I topped with 1/2 cup cheese and 1 cup fried onions...came out great! If you use the 30 oz. of potatoes I would suggest baking for an extra 10 minutes! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Delicious, delicious, delicious! I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled the recipe. I bought 9 butterfly pork cops that were halved and were 1/2" thick. I used almost a whole bag of 32oz. Southern style hash browns (they are cubed) 1 cup sour cream, 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 1 c. milk. I seasoned BOTH the potato mixture and the pork chops with: salt, Lawry's seasoning pepper, Montreal steak seasoning and garlic powder. I think one of the best ways to make this recipe good is in the seasoning and when browning the pork chops make sure you brown them well. Also, the hash browns need to be defrosted before using. The only thing I would do differently next time is instead of using half the cheese in the potato mixture and half on top during the last 5 minutes, I will put 1 1/2 cups cheese in the potato mixutre and top with only onion rings, I will also keep 1/2 the onion rings in the potato mixture. My son in law, which never eats very much, ate four pork chops, he absolutly loved this recipe. I am anxious to try this with chicken breasts. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This was wonderful, Ter! Thanks so much. I cut milk to 1/4 cup because of other reviews. I also added green beans to my potato mixture. Used pork loin chops with no bone and baked 1 hr at 375 degrees. My family couldn't stop eating this wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
I loved this recipe. I used boneless pork chops with cream of mushroom soup! Loved it even more for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Delicious !! I made these today and the guys absolutely loved it. I did a few alterations after reading the reviews...first I used potatoes o'brien, cream of mushroom soup, used 1 cup onions and 1 cup cheese in the potato mix and 1 can of drained green beans...added for taste salt, pepper, garlic powder and lawry's seasoned salt...browned 1 inch butterfly chops in olive oil and the added seasonings and finally put 1/2 cup cheese and onions on top...cook time was perfect for tender and juicy chops...will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Very VERY GOOD!!! While browning the chops, I liberally spiced them up with some all-season salt & garlic/onion powder. Thanks to others, I reduced the milk to 1/4c and reduced the FF Onions by half. I am thankful for this easy and tasty recipe! Creamy potatoes and chops...what a comforting combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Man, oh man, what a tasty dish this turned out to be! I read the reviews and made a few slight changes... Be sure to season your pork chops well before browning them in the skillet. (I used Montreal Steak seasoning and garlic powder). Instead of Cream of Celery soup, I used Cream of Mushroom with Roasted Garlic... MUCH better flavor than celery! Cut back on the milk just a tad; try 1/3 cup rather than 1/2. Also, add all the cheese in at once with the hash browns; you really don't need to save any back for the topping. I bought the larger size can of French Fried Onions and mixed about 2/3 of it in with the hash browns, then I sprinkled the rest of the can over the chops as a last step before baking. I took this to a pot luck dinner and everyone loved it. Five people asked me for the recipe and I even got somewhat of a marriage proposal... he said, "If you weren't already married, I'd marry you right now!" This is not a "figure friendly" type of meal, but it is truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This was yummy comfort food! I seasoned my pork chops liberally with garlic powder, seasoning salt, and pepper. I had to bake this a little longer then written because my hashbrowns weren't totally defrosted, but it still came out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
Yummy!!! The potatoes taste GREAT with the chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States