Creamy Potato Pork Chop Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is a great dish! I also make it with chicken and use cream of chicken soup in place of cream of mushroom. It's a great comfort food for winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trhjrh06
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I only give this a 3 because I thought the texture of the pork wasn't the best. Also the flavor of the pork was pretty bland. But those were minor details. The potato part was so yummy! My husband and daughter loved it as did I! Will make again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trhjrh06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I really like the base of this recipe, but I made some changes to make it healthier. I made my own cream of celery soup to cut down on sodium, fat, and other additives found in canned soup. Very easy to do, by the way. I also shredded red potatoes and kept the skin on for extra vitamins instead of pre-packaged hash browns. Used low-fat sour cream, but I did stay true to the recipe and used full-fat cheese and added the onions, but only used about 1/3 of a cup since they're not the healthiest. Made a side of steamed green beans and voila! The dish was tasty and can easily be altered here and there to fit individual preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Sorry, but this was just "meh". Not bad, but not wonderful, just average. Hubby and I feel the same about this one. Not sure why so many 5 star ratings and great reviews, but I guess to each their own. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Man, oh man, what a tasty dish this turned out to be! I read the reviews and made a few slight changes... Be sure to season your pork chops well before browning them in the skillet. (I used Montreal Steak seasoning and garlic powder). Instead of Cream of Celery soup, I used Cream of Mushroom with Roasted Garlic... MUCH better flavor than celery! Cut back on the milk just a tad; try 1/3 cup rather than 1/2. Also, add all the cheese in at once with the hash browns; you really don't need to save any back for the topping. I bought the larger size can of French Fried Onions and mixed about 2/3 of it in with the hash browns, then I sprinkled the rest of the can over the chops as a last step before baking. I took this to a pot luck dinner and everyone loved it. Five people asked me for the recipe and I even got somewhat of a marriage proposal... he said, "If you weren't already married, I'd marry you right now!" This is not a "figure friendly" type of meal, but it is truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
My entire family LOVED this (2 boys, ages 12 & 14 plus hubby). The only things I did different were minor - I used cream of mushroom soup, my cheese was a mixture type and I threw in some regular onion (by mistake!). I can't say enough how yummy this was! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I love these so comforting and easy. Always a hit with my family and easy to tweak to your tastes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Very easy recipe. Quick to assemble, and then you can just pop it in the oven and walk away! My husband and brother-in-law both raved over how good it was the first time I made it, and my husband requests it frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I made with pork chop. might be better with chicken potatoes very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Really liked this recipe. Great comfort food. I only made one change and that was that I used the O'brien potatoes with peppers and onions. Added some extra flavor and I took the advice of some of the other viewers and browned my pork chops with some garlic salt and pepper. By the way, I realized after I put my potatoes in to mix that I purchased a 28oz bag rather than the 20oz bag that it called for and he still came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States