Creamy Potato Pork Chop Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This dish was pretty good. I used a little more cheese than called for and seasoned the chops with seasoned salt, pepper and garlic powder. Easy and pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KostonsMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I thought this dish was excellent. So did my hubby. It was not watery as some had said nor was it dry. Here is what I did to change it up some. In olive oil with onion flakes and minced garlic I placed the pork chops in the pan with seasoning salt and peper. While they were browning up, I mixed together the shredded hash brown potatoes (30 oz)bag, can of cream of chicken, can of cream of celery, 1/4 cup milk, 1 cup sour cream, seasoning salt and pepper to taste, sprinkle of minced onion and garlic powder, 1 teaspoon basil, 1 can green beans and 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese. Placed in a 2 qt casserole dish and topped with chops. Baked for 1 hour and then added remaining cheese and french fried onions and baked an additional 10-15 mins. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight and it became an instant favorite with my son. I followed the recipe pretty much as written except I added some pepper jack cheese because I had it left over in the fridge. I also used a little more of the onions both mixed with the potatoes and on top. I will definitely be making this again and next time will try using cream of mushroom soup and seasoning the chops before browning, as suggested by other reviewers. This recipe is a keeper and one I would serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This recipe was good, but I wouldn't call it great. The chops had good flavor and the potatoes were good, but kind of runny. I may or may not make it again. Probably look for something better. I have this potato recipe that I make on it's own with crushed corn flakes on top. I'd stick with that than to put it with the pork chops next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Beaubien Povich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was easy and so delicious! Definitely season your chops well before they go into the oven. I used cream of mushroom soup instead of celery, added 1/2 C milk plus more sour cream then the recipe called for and it was not runny at all. I also added more cheese as well. Everyone loved it! We are going to try it with chicken tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoholic2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this dish the other night and i was really look forward to dinner,But i was really disappointed,It came out so salty i couldn't eat it.Every time i make a recipe with soup it never comes out right,Am i doing something wrong? I really like all recipe they have good recipe but this one wasn't to good for patti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I have made this twice, and my fiance and I both love it. We can only find hash brown potatoes in a 30 oz bag, so I just use all of the bag, and double the soup and sour cream. I also use cream of mushroom instead of celery. I don't use oil for the chops; just season with garlic salt, pepper, and onion powder and cook them in my nonstick skillet. The nonstick and the little bit of fat from the chops have always kept them from sticking for me. I think not using the oil makes them more juicy because they don't get that crispy "fried" texture on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANITEGAL316

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, Ohio, USA
Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This dish was so delicious. My whole family loved it. Like other reviewers, I seasoned the chops with pepper and seasoned salt before browning them. I then used a 32 oz. bag of "Southern-style" (cubed) hashbrowns, 2 cans cream of mushroom soup, 1 cup sour cream, 1 cup milk and 1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese and seasoned with seasoned salt, pepper and garlic powder. Cooked for about 45 minutes, then topped with onion pieces and 1/2 cup cheese. Came out nice and creamy without being overly runny. This is great comfort food and will probably show up an our menu often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookwormans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
My husband and I loved this! I made a couple changes based on what I had on hand. Instead of frozen potatoes, I just shredded my own and also used colby jack cheese to top it because I ran out of cheddar, and it added a lot of flavor. I seasoned the pork chops with garlic powder and seasoned salt while browning and used EVOO instead of vegetable oil. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Erickson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Pretty good, think maybe next time we may include corn and more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States