Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
A family favorite. I use turkey bacon, half and half and butter milk. Leeks are simmered with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I've never used leeks before but I heard they make a great soup. I found this recipe and because of the ratings decided to try it. I used baby reds and a few gold potatoes (since that is what I had on hand), 8 cups chicken broth, 2 bay leaves, and a pinch or so of thyme, parsley, rosemary and dill seed. I fried half the bacon suggested to a nice crisp. I rinsed three medium size leeks and used part of the white bulb and most of the green leaves, chopped thinly and used the bacon grease to sauté the leeks til tender. And as others suggested, I added 2 chopped garlic cloves with the leeks. Then I used half and half and 2% milk. A little pepper, didn't add any salt, and this is delicious. Next time I'll add chopped celery and carrots with the leeks. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
meh.. not my favorite. I would call this potato and lots of bacon soup. I made as the recipe called except substituting whole milk for cream. I found it bland. It tasted like boiled potatoes with lots of bacon. So many different variables though, type and size of potatoes, bacon and use of chicken stock. I used high quality bacon and homemade chicken stock and medium yellow potatoes. I was able to save it adding additional seasoning. Consistency was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA97303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
AMAZING!! Easy to make. Thank you for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Made this for my extremely picky husband...he loved it! So easy to make and the flavor is awesome! He said throw out my other potato leek recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I only made it once, but it was excellent. I should make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Made this tonight for the 1st time. The family loved it! I previously mashed the potatoes and added Thuringer sausage ala Kartoffelsuppe, but this was perfect for a cold winter's evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I don't know how anyone could think this recipe is bland! It's so tasty because of the bacon. I add garlic because I add garlic to almost everything. Using lower fat milk does not detract from the taste at all, if you're worried about calories. I usually use coffee cream. My kids love this soup. I make it at least once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States