Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I made a few changes, served with homemade bread and my husband declared it to be "the best thing he ever ate." I pureed the potatoes with my hand blender, used 1/2 the bacon called for, added 2 very large cloves of garlic to the leeks and used 1% milk in place of the cream. I used canned chicken broth and next time will use reduced sodium as I did think it too salty- even with no added salt. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I also looked at this recipe and thought.. "5 ingredients? No kidding!" But i'll be damned if this isn't the best Potato and Leek soup i've ever had! It was so simple and easy to make and took no time at all. I think it's the "basicness" of this recipe that is most appealing. Not much to mess up and the results are wonderful. I left the ingredients exactly as stated and didn't change anything. I was left with a sensationally robust chunky and very flavoursome soup. The only thing i MAY try next time is instead of cutting up all the bacon i'll just grab bacon bits. But it may detract from the presentation of the soup at the end. It's nice to see all those chunks of potato and bacon in it. My family AND neighbours loved it and i'll definately be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
A really excellent combination of tastes, with no additional seasonings needed. I modified the recipe somewhat by mixing in one-third of the sauteed leeks with the cooked potatoes, then blending about two-thirds of the resulting soup into a puree before mixing it back in with the rest of the potatoes and adding the remaining leeks and cream. It's a very rich soup and Half and Half cream seems to sustain the flavor while reducing the calories and fat content somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDENHAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
A very delicous soup. Easy to follow instructions. It felt sinful to eat because of it's high fat content. A lower fat alternative I have tried to the bacon is smoked ham and milk instead of heavy cream. Sauteing the leeks is key to good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This recipe was good, but the directions were vague. I did not know what kind of potato to use, so I used large russett potatoes. I only needed 4. Also, the leeks were huge. I only needed one. I did use a hand blender to cream the potatoes before I added the other ingredients. I also used half and half instead of heaving whipping cream. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
Delicious with or without the cream (for dieters)! Even better if you throw everything but the cream in right away to boil into the soup! Mash it all before you add the cream for a thick smooth soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Seriously good soup!! I've made it lots of different ways and it always turns out perfect. I've substituted onions for leeks and ham for the bacon. I always use milk to make it more healthy. To make up for it, and to make the soup thicker, I stir in about 1/4 cup of potato flour - this makes it perfect - almost like a thick stew. I get compliments everytime I make this recipe - and that's quite often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Wow! I was at the store and noticed the fresh leeks and bought them on a whim, then came home and looked up a recipe - i'm so glad I picked this one! I am literally eating the soup as we speak and it is phenomenal. After reading other's reviews and seeing what I had on hand, I used 5 cups of chicken broth instead of 4 (5 cups of water seasoned with chicken buillion cubes); used half a pound of bacon and half a pound of cubed pancetta (I live in Italy now and we have to use what we can find!); sauteed 4 chopped garlic cloves with the 2 whole leeks; after the potatoes were tender I took out approximately 1/4 of the batch and mashed them easily by hand with a masher. This recipe is delicious. A good way to clean leeks for those of us who dont cook with them often is as follows: 1. Rinse the outsides, cut off the bulb/root. 2. remove any outside leaves that are spotty or extra dark green, trim the ends of the green top of the leek. 3. cut the leek lengthwise down the middle, and chop according to recipe. 4. Place leeks in bowl of warm water and swirl around to remove excess dirt. 5. scoop out leeks and place in colandar, rinse. It seems like alot of work, but really its not that hard and it is worth it to not have dirt in your recipe. Thanks for the delicious soup - will most definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le12ahw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
What a delicious soup. I used low sodium chicken broth, since I figured the bacon would lend enough salt to the recipe. I used half fat cream, and I think I could have easily used milk instead. I also used a hand blender to purée the potatoes, which made it thick and creamy. Served it with some homemade bread and it made for a wonderful rainy night supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Wonderful flavor - the bacon (or some other similar seasoned meat) adds a lot of flavor. I added 2 tablespoons butter and pureed about 1 cup of the cooked potatoes to add to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States