Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I just made this, and it was great! I halved the recipe because I had only about 8 red potatoes. I used low sodium chicken broth and then added a small amount of salt to taste at the table. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream. It was very tasty and rich, although I think you could use low fat milk and it would still taste great. Follow the recipe as written as much as possible; definitely sauté the leeks before adding to the soup. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Best recipe ever! Make it a couple of times a month....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I changed only one thing. I added a few minced garlic cloves in with the leeks while they were sauteing. I also didn't measure the cream or broth. My boyfriend has decided that he is buying leeks anytime he sees them now so I can make this really easy and really tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This soup was not only easy, it was also delicious THe only tweek I did was to pull 1/2 the potatos out near the end and puree what was in the pot including the leeks with my submersion blender and then add the chunk potatos back....was awesome...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was perfect as is. No changes made and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Everyone loved this even though the rest of the family are not a fans of potatoes but I am. I made as per recipe and it is so good. This way I can enjoy my potatoes along with the non-potato eaters. Thanks Anabanana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was my frist attempt at homemade soup and it was a SMASH! Amazingly delicious and creamy, the only downfall is there wasn't enough. Definitely doubling recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
MOST AWESOME SOUP EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I also added a few onions to the leaks, used evaporated milk instead of cream, and peppered the soup at the end. FANTASTIC!!!!! and so cheap to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This recipe is awesome! My entire family loves it! First time I made it, I made it according to the recipe, fantastic! Afterwards, since I like leaving my soup to sit overnight, I dont put in the potoatos until later. I add a little flour to thicken the soup. If I have a turkey or chicken carcass , I boil that for a few hours with some chicken broth. I remove the bones and add the chicken to the soup. Its amazing and makes it very hearty. I usually only go for about 1/2-3/4 of the bacon the recipe calls for, I find too much bacon can sometimes take over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stepharoni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This soup was great. I used canned milk (what I had available) and yellow and red potatoes. I don't think it could have been better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States